Banana Soap Rebatch

I said I wanted to explore rebatching further after surprisingly enjoying the beer soap rebatch, but I really did not expect to be doing it again so soon.  The banana soap I made over the weekend seized on me, so I had to rebatch it to give it a second chance.

It was still fresh and soft, so I just sliced it thinly (faster with a bench scraper than a knife).  I did not add water, but added a tablespoon of vanilla fragrance when most of the soap had melted.

Here are the step by step photos:

Sliced up soap, ready to be rebatched using the plastic baggie technique.

Sliced-up soap, ready to be rebatched using the plastic baggie technique.

Soap melting in a pot of boiling water.

Soap melting in a pot of boiling water.

Massaged soap to get it all evenly melted.

Soap after adding fragrance and getting a good massage.

Melted soap is ready.  Note one side of the bag is rolled up for easier pouring.

Melted soap is ready. Note one side of the bag is rolled up for easier pouring. It’s hot!

To get an evenly flat surface, find something hard of the same size to press the soap firmly down.

Soap pressed firmly into the mold with an acrylic panel for an evenly flat surface and to avoid air pockets.

Once the soap is out of the bag and in contact with air, the surface starts to form a skin.  If you try to smoothen the top with a spatula, you will get white streaks; the contact and agitation seems to set the soap. For this batch, I just tapped and shook the mold to get the soap to settle a bit, then placed the acrylic panel on the surface and pressed it down. The surface will still come out wrinkly-looking, but flat. Anyone got ideas how to remove the wrinkles? (Bake it??)

I unmolded the soap after about 4 hours.  I used the poorly self-designed acrylic panel inserts that I know are NOT suitable for cold process.  I just wanted to see if rebatched soap would stick to it too.  It did.  But at 4 hours, it wasn’t super glue yet. I waited for 12 hours before cutting the soap.

banana 1

Leave a Reply

