Charcoal Soap for Men

I think it’s easy to guess that charcoal is one of my favorite additives.  Aside from its beneficial properties, there’s just something mysterious, attractive and unique about the color black in soaps.  It’s also something I always have at home.  It is one of the best remedies for an upset stomach.  I have also used it as a facial mask (mixed with yogurt), mouthwash, poultice, and to remove the onion smell from a container.

I had problems before with putting too much or too little charcoal.  This time I used 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp charcoal (6 grams) for 900 grams of oils (olive, coconut, lard, rice bran, castor) and it looks like I found the perfect ratio.  The color is a deep black but it does not bleed into the suds.

Charcoal 1

I can’t stop smelling these! I have been disappointed with some of the fragrances I got, but this one is a gorgeous manly vanilla.  This is my favorite scent so far.  It accelerated trace just a bit.  It was soaped between 95-105˚F.

It had light soda ash when it was unmolded, but with the high humidity brought on by the rains, the ash disappeared!  It has just been 4 days, so it remains to be seen if it stays ash-free.

4 thoughts on “Charcoal Soap for Men

  1. Jenny

    I love the look of this soap, especially with the stamp! I think guys will love it. I recently got some activated charcoal and I’ll have to use it soon. I have oily skin, and I hear it’s supposed to be good for that.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi jenny, thank you for your comment. I am sure you will love using charcoal in your soap. A friend of mine with oily skin loves it, but so do people with normal – dry skin. Would love to know how you find it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

