Help! How to achieve purple?

It has been a month of struggling with colors. I don’t have that much trouble with natural colorants like charcoal and annatto seed powder, but it’s the lab colors, and to a lesser degree the oxides, that I’m having problems with.  I purchased primary colors only, thinking that I could just mix myself to create other colors.  I’m beginning to think it’s not that simple, and there’s good reason why people buy a rainbow of different colors. For the soap below, I mixed 1/8 tsp ultramarine blue oxide and 1 drop red lab color for 500 grams of soap batter. I wanted lavender, but I got gray instead. And obviously, I put too little color.  Perhaps I should name this Lavender Clouds. gray lavender For my second attempt, I wanted to create purple, so I mixed blue and red liquid lab colors. Originally there was more blue, but I could not see the color transformation, so I ended up adding more red.  Being a newbie with colors, I was not surprised that I did not get my mix right, but I was surprised to find the speckles. I researched and found out that the heat from the saponification can cook some colors.  Ahh, I always learn something new. I am also wondering why this soap has white spots. It does not have palm oil – only olive oil, coconut oil, rice bran oil and castor oil.  Could they be bubbles? black amber and lavender I scented the black portion with Black Amber and Lavender, and the pink portion with straight lavender.  I like the way it smells strong and lavender-y, with a hint of sweetness. However, after a couple of days, the brown discoloration of the Black Amber and Lavender has started to migrate to the pink portion.

See how the brown discoloration from the f.o. has migrated to the pink portion?

See how the brown discoloration from the f.o. has migrated to the pink portion?

I just read Otion‘s latest post on Zebra Morph Swirl.  Coincidentally, their creation was closer to the look I was aiming for.  Their purple is beautiful!  It’s good to know that all it takes is Cellini Blue Mica.  But since I don’t have it (and even if I ordered it, it will take a long time to reach me across the globe), I was wondering if there’s another way to mix blue and red oxides and/or lab colors to come up with purple? Would love and greatly appreciate to hear your tips and suggestions!

6 thoughts on “Help! How to achieve purple?

  1. Jennifer

    Black amber looks BEAUTIFUL. Sometimes I get white spots which are simply bubbles when mixing the soap… once or twice I have had to throw out a whole batch because the white spots were un-mixed lye…. now we strain the lye water when we are pouring into the oils every time just in case… xoxoxo Jen

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Jennifer! So nice to hear from you. I am very sure the spots are not undissolved lye because I also strain my lye water. I try to be careful when mixing with the stick blender, but somehow I always produce bubbles.

      Reply
  2. Cee

    Unfortunately I’m not sure how to mix purple with the colors you have. I’ve had pretty good luck with UM purple, and I also recently tried an NG liquid purple and it worked really well.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Cee! Thank you for sharing. I will continue experimenting with blending the colors that I have, but it’s also time I ordered some purple color. -Silvia 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Tilted Tiger Stripe | SoapJam

  4. Pingback: Color Riot | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

