Making a Little Progress

I think I am finally making a little progress in the looks department of my soap.  I didn’t intend for this to look like waves against a cloudy sky, but I’m happy it came out that way.

ocean mist 2

I mixed 1/3 of the soap batter with 1/4 tsp ultramarine blue oxide, another 1/3 with 1 tsp titanium dioxide, and the last 1/3 with 1/8 tsp ultramarine blue mixed with 1/8 tsp green chrome oxide.

I soaped at around 90˚F using olive oil, coconut oil, cocoa butter and castor oil. Even with the fragrance oils, this took a long time to trace. I think this batch did not gel.  I took a peek before going to bed and it had not yet gelled.  Most of my soaps start to gel within the first couple of hours.

For the scent, I mixed lily of the valley, energy, and green tea & white pear, resulting in a spa-like fragrance.   I think I will name this Ocean Mist.

6 thoughts on “Making a Little Progress

    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Jenny and Cee! Thank you for your compliments. Don’t you just love the moment you cut the soap and get to see how it looks inside? The scent is cool, mild and fresh. -Silvia 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

