It’s a Dog on My Soap!

For the first time ever, I am joining Great Cakes Soapworks‘ Soap Challenge Club!  I have long admired the beautiful soaps that participants submit for the monthly contest, and it’s such a fun and exciting way to learn a new technique especially for beginners like me.

I was so thrilled when the Holly Swirl was announced as the theme for this month.  I am a great fan of Holly’s (Missouri River Soap) gorgeous soaps, and one of my favorites is her Green Apple and Rose.  I have not personally tried it, but I just love the way it looks and sounds.  I had watched her video on how she made it, but never got to do it until now.

As you can see, my first attempt at the Holly Swirl was not very successful.  I should have waited for a thicker trace before pouring the black and white swirl into the black base.  I needed oils that were slow to trace, so I used olive, coconut and rice bran.  It took forever to trace, even after I added all the colors (activated charcoal, TD, and green chrome oxide) and fragrance. I used BB’s Black Tea, the most well-behaved f.o. I have ever come across.  I love the way it smells: strong smokey black tea balanced with the fresh scent of citrus and sweet raspberries.

The big surprise came after cutting the soap. There is an unmistakeable image of a dog on 2 of the soap bars!  With its big eyes, I think it looks like a pug, or maybe a cross-breed because it has long ears.  🙂

green and black tea 1

Do you see the image of a dog?

green and black tea 2

Mirrored image of a dog on Black & Green Tea Soap.

14 thoughts on “It’s a Dog on My Soap!

  1. Jenny

    Aww, cute doggy! Your soap looks really cool! I admire Holly’s soaps, too. I remember seeing the Holly Swirl a few months ago, but I haven’t given it a try yet. I need to give it a go, though, because it is so pretty. Best of luck to you with the Soap Challenge!

    Reply
  2. Chrissy

    That definitely looks like a pug to me. Sometimes it seems like looking at these kind of swirls is as much fun as looking at clouds – you can always see something fun 🙂 Great work!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Honey Sunrise | SoapJam

  4. Pingback: Holly Swirl: My First Soap Challenge | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

