Holly Swirl: My First Soap Challenge

Ok, here it is, my entry to Amy Warden’s Soap Challenge Club!   I’m so excited to be participating in my first ever soap challenge! The one I’m submitting is my second attempt at the Holly Swirl.  My first and third tries looked interesting but did not look like a Holly Swirl.

The black base is colored with charcoal and scented with an herbaceous green tea.  The pink swirl is red lab color with a drop of blue for a deeper pink, and it’s scented with Japanese cherry blossom.  The cream part has a small amount of T.D. (I tend to be very light handed with it) and scented with green tea and pear.  I find Japanese cherry blossom too powdery and floral for my taste, but mixed with green scents, it smells very pretty, delicate and feminine, with good staying power.

Oils used were olive oil, coconut oil, rice bran oil, and castor oil. I’d say this combination is a slow to medium tracer.  I noticed that without castor oil, trace is at a much slower pace.

My inspiration for the design was a dragonfruit, that’s why I added a sprinkling of black sesame seeds.  But because of the fragrance combination, I decided to name it Japanese Spring.  While the sesame seeds add a nice touch, I would not use it again in the future because after a few days, it discolored the area around it.

dragonfruit 1dragonfruit 2dragonfruit 3

japanese spring

Thank you Amy for being so gracious in bringing together the global soaping community with your Soap Challenge Club! Learning and sharing has never been this fun!  🙂

39 thoughts on “Holly Swirl: My First Soap Challenge

  1. soapjam Post author

    Hi Tricia, Shannon, Cris, Gail, and Mayren! Thank you for your comments! I’m so thrilled to be joining this challenge for the first time with so many talented soapers like you! 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Amy! Thank for your comment and for your graciousness in hosting the Soap Challenge Club. It took me a long time to use my Cherry Blossom f.o. because I just did not like it. But wow, what a huge difference a little blending makes.

      Reply
  2. Janet Matherly

    Love this one, and I especially love the shot of the two soaps together, to get a continuous flow on the design. Beautiful.

    Reply
  3. Diva Soap

    Bravo,Silvia! This soap is gorgeous! I have discovered your blog recently and I still haven’t looked thru it thoroughly,but I see the great progress you have made for such a short time!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Maja! Thank you for your comment and for reading my blog. What can I say, but that I have completely fallen in love with soapmaking! I’ve definitely learned a lot since making my first soap (a failure!) last April, but I still have a looooong way to go and there are still so many recipes and techniques I want to try. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Discovering the Celine Swirl | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

