Oatmeal Yogurt & Honey Soap

I have made oatmeal & honey and oatmeal & milk soaps, but never the OMH trinity.  Since I have a lot of yogurt and I am on a yogurt soap ride, I decided to make an OYH instead of the classic OMH.  I also don’t have OMH fragrance, something that seems to be a staple in most people’s f.o. collection, so I just concocted my own blend of lavender, lemongrass, neroli and honey.  I know it sounds confusing but the result is actually very nice, light and fresh.

Breakfast: Inspiration behind OYH soap

Breakfast: Inspiration behind OYH soap

My husband just gave me his old Fuji X100 (love you! 🙂 ) Wow, I am just having a blast using it!  I have always enjoyed taking photos for my blog, but with my old point and shoot, sometimes it was really a challenge especially when it’s dark and grey outside.  With the “new” camera, I am inspired to take photos more than ever.  The weather too has been very cooperative!

OYM 1

Oatmeal Yogurt Honey Soap

OYM 3

Surface view. Very little soda ash.

OYH soap on top of plain yogurt soap.

Homemade yogurt and OYH on top of plain yogurt soaps.

OYH and plain yogurt soap

OYH and plain yogurt soap, side by side, up close.

9 thoughts on “Oatmeal Yogurt & Honey Soap

  1. Jenny

    Oatmeal, milk, and honey soap is one of my favorites! Hubby loves it, too, and often asks for it. I make mine with ground oats, goat’s milk, and honey, but yogurt in place of the milk sounds fabulous! OMH is one of my favorite FOs, too (I like Bramble Berry’s). Your scent combo sounds very nice as well. And your photos are gorgeous!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Jenny! Thank you for your comment and for sharing your favorite OMH fragrance supplier (love Bramble Berry!) I should get one for myself as it looks like OMH soap will become one of my favorites too.

      Reply
  2. Syamsiah Adam

    Hello Silvia…
    It’s nice to read ur blog. I’m a very very new soap maker, and your blog is very helpful 🙂
    I myself like yogurt in the soap.
    For this soap, do you insulate the soap or not? I wonder due to the sugar content in the honey.
    Thanks 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Syamsiah! Thank you for reading my blog. 🙂
      I use wooden molds and I still cover them with a towel when I’m making yogurt soaps. If there’s honey, I just cover with a kitchen towel. But yes, I still insulate. Just check your soap after an hour to see if it is starting to overheat. You will know if the surface starts wrinkling or cracking. If it looks like it is overheating, remove the towel. Hope this helps. Wishing you a great soapy journey! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Madame Propre

    Hi Sylvia! I was looking back into this yogurt soap too. Those pictures are great! Nice scene, and the colours are showing at their best. Do you still use yogurt regularly? How much do you use? I have done it a few times a while ago, but stopped. I wish I could get a white yogurt soap… Did you try?

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Madame Propre! I use yogurt in almost all of my soaps. I masterbatch my lye at a concentration of 50%, so whatever the excess liquid is called for by soapcalc, I use yogurt. I mix the yogurt with the oil before adding the lye solution. This way I don’t need to freeze the yogurt. I never get a white white soap unless I put Titanium Dioxide. The natural color is a creamy off-white which I don’t mind.

      Reply
  4. soapjam Post author

    I made a very white yogurt soap, called Aqua, using 3 grams TD for every 250 grams of soap batter, and I also used a totally non-discoloring FO. I hope that helps. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

