For Him: Regatta and Beau Brummel

Last week, I made 2 soaps for men. The first one is a combination of gingered bergamot and tangerine f.o.s.  It smells fresh and clean, and with the blue and green colours, it reminds me of the sea. Italy perhaps? Positano? Amalfi? Capri? I looked up all the names of famous Italian beaches but didn’t find a perfect match. Sniff sniff again….it definitely smells sporty. And that’s when I had a light bulb moment. Regatta!  Yes, the sailing event sounds just perfect!

regatta 1 regatta 2regatta 3

The second soap I made is scented with Beau Brummel and Black Tea. Careless me, I forgot to put fragrance in the upper black part of the soap! Just recently also, I made a batch of honey patchouli soap with a “honeycomb” top.  I was supposed to put honey in the soap but I only remembered after pouring the soap into the mold!  Argh! I really want to kick myself sometimes. Have you experienced forgetting to put an ingredient in your soap?

Beau Brummel 1 Beau Brummel 2

12 thoughts on “For Him: Regatta and Beau Brummel

  1. Gordana

    Both soaps look fabulous! I am sure that man will be delighted! They reminded me on the promise, to which I committed so long ago, about making a soap to my husband, but still did not ! 🙂 Thanks for inspiring me, I am adding now soap “for him” on my to do list!

    Reply
  2. DivaSoap

    I like your Regata, the scent sounds to be appealing to ladies, too! I think I’d love it!
    And look at this distinct black/peachy combo, I love it. I just wish you had put more pictures of this one, it is really fantastic!
    About forgetting- I’m a master on this! So far, I had happen to forget fragrance, an oil and even the whole (coloured and scented) portion of the batch! The worst one was this last (not the ‘missing oil’ case, because I figured out in time that I needed to add the missing oil)!
    I suppose I get anxious about premature setting up, so rushing to get everything done, takes me to this mishaps!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hahaha! It’s really funny hearing people’s mishaps or near-mishaps, although at that moment it is happening, it is not funny at all! Just this evening, I made coffee oatmeal soap but forgot to put the oatmeal because I was rushing knowing that the recipe sets up fast.
      My husband and I both love the way regatta smells. You’re right, it is a unisex scent.
      I am currently a bit challenged with taking photos because it has been raining and I still have not gotten the hang of the camera my husband gave me. I take a lot of photos but sometimes I can barely pick out a couple of good ones!

      Reply
  3. Vicki

    Lovely soaps! Gingered bergamot and tangerine sounds lovely. I recently forgot to add the fragrance before I split the batter up and coloured it. So then I was struggling to get the right proportions of FO into each coloured section (and worrying about it setting up on me as I added it). Hopefully I won’t make that mistake again in a hurry 😀

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Vicki! Tangerine with gingered bergamot is a really nice combination.
      I’m sure you work fast that’s why you were able to manage the situation. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Monica

    I love how both of your soaps sound for scents! Does that make sense? I’m not a big floral person, so more masculine scents are much more to my liking. The Regatta soap is so pretty and your black soap is super amazing!

    I always forget things when I’m soaping: if it’s not forgetting to spritz with alcohol, it’s forgetting to scent the soap. I need to make myself a checklist that I can see while I’m making soaps. 😉

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Monica! I think we might have similar tastes in scents. I am generally more drawn to clean, fresh, unisex scents. My husband and i use the same eau de toilette called Arancia by Acqua di Parma. It smells differently on his skin than mine. My other favorite colognes would also fall under the unisex category.
      We need soaping angels to make sure we don’t forget anything. And a checklist is mighty useful. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Amy@10th Ave.

    Good call on the name Regatta! I struggle SO much with creative names for blends. And that’s some beautiful layering in the Beau Brummel soap.

    Oh, yes on forgetting ingredients! My worst was when I only used about half the lye I’d measured out. For some reason I just added some of it and gone ahead with the batch. Needless to say, it was very, very soft soap!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Amy! Coming up with creative names does not happen easily for me either, so most of the time i let the name simply reflect either the key ingredients or scents used.
      Gosh, I hope I never mess up the lye or oil measurement, and I hope it never happens again to you!:-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

