Desert Dune

I normally like to make swirls using a spoon, but for this batch, I simply poured the colors alternately. I believe this technique is called Drop Swirl even though the batter is not physically swirled like a Celine Swirl, Swirl within a Swirl (Holly Swirl), or In-the-Pot Swirl (ITP).

It’s the first time I’ve achieved this kind of look, and I’ve also departed from my usual flat surface. ย I’ve always admired the fancy domed tops that many soapmakers create, but since I wanted to wrap my soaps with paper, a flat surface was the practical thing to do.

After much pondering on the direction I wanted to take my soap-making this year, I decided to have two kinds of packaging: paper for all-natural soaps, and plastic for the ones with design and fragrance oils, or what I call “fun fragrant soaps.” I still have a lot of things to iron out, so I won’t be fully implementing this any time soon. More on this when things are in place.

I used my standard yogurt soap recipe with olive oil, coconut oil, palm oil, rice bran oil and cocoa butter. ย Knowing that the fragrance would turn the soap tan, I used black and brown oxides, and took my chance with yellow (fluorescent yellow pigment and yellow oxide) to have a lighter contrast.

The soaps below looked much lighter and brighter when I made them last Jan. 6. The brown part was supposed to be light brown but it turned into reddish brown, and the yellow darkened to an olive-mustard shade. The discoloration makes the soap appear like a shadow is cast over it. ย While I prefer the lighter version when it was newly cut, I think the darker colour adds depth and mystery, which goes with the fragrance – a blend of frankincense, myrrh and warm spices. I was on the fence about the scent, and I am not sure if it will appeal to many, but it is really growing on me.

After going through so many names, I finally settled on Desert Dune. Frankincense and Myrrh are resins from trees that grow in the desert or in the harsh conditions of the Middle East and Africa, and I’d like to think that the swirls of the soap resemble the undulating silhouette of sand dunes.

Desert Dune

desert dune 2Desert Dune

29 thoughts on “Desert Dune

  1. Marika

    You are so active! It seems like you have posted something new already before I have had a chance to read to old post ๐Ÿ™‚ Love this multiple dropplet look that you achieved. And Iยดm sorry about the Taiwan swirl that is lye heavy. It is the most beautiful swirls of them all.

    Reply
  2. Vicki

    I think the drop swirl is one of my favourite techniques, and you’ve got it spot on here!!
    It is so lovely, and the textured top is great too ๐Ÿ˜€ Did you use a fragrance oil or essential oils?

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Vicki! I love your drop swirls, especially the black and white one.
      I used f.O. although I would like to try the e.o. one of these days. So expensive though!

      Reply
  3. Cindy

    Oh, my goodness…that’s my kind of soap…sultry and sexy! Beautiful. The drop swirls are perfectly placed…each and every one like you planned it!

    Reply
  4. Gordana

    Really effective color combination and beautiful soap! I also like wavy swirls. It’s not always easy to make them, but give really nice touch to overall soap appearance.

    Reply
  5. CLAUDIA

    This soap looks amazing and the fragrance sounds fantastic, too.
    You did a fanstastic job,keep doing what you do .
    Wish you a Happy New Chinese Year!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Color Riot | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

