A Galloping Happy New Year of the Horse!

Based on the Gregorian Calendar, we are well into the New Year of 2014.  But based on the Chinese Calendar, New Year is still on January 31. My family does not exactly celebrate Chinese New Year, although it gives us an excuse to have a Chinese meal together, but am taking advantage of this calendar difference to bring out the soaps from 2013 that I was not able to blog about.

I like using this blog to document the soaps I’ve made, because knowing me, I won’t be able to remember many things.  Moreover, it’s interesting to be able to look back and see any progress I’ve made, and the colour/design/scent phases I went through.

Here are most of the soaps that I had taken photos of, but that missed last year’s blog train. Some of them look similar and have common scent components, like the Lavenders and Green Teas.  The second version of the Kumquat & Lavender is supposed to be orange and purple, but the orange came out yellow instead. All of them smell great except for the 2 prettiest, in my opinion. Midsummer Night smells fresh and green out of the bottle, but in cured soap it reminds me of dirty laundry soaking in soapy water. I love the look of the Sandalwood Musk, even as it eventually darkened to a light tan, but I think it smells like an old lady.

Kumquat and Lavender, version 1

Kumquat and Lavender, version 1

Kumquat and Lavender, version 2

Kumquat and Lavender, version 2

Lavender and Lemon

Lavender and Lemon

Lavender Green Tea

Lavender Green Tea

Sweet Pea and Green Tea

Sweet Pea and Green Tea

Lavender Mist

Lavender Mist

Midsummer Night

Midsummer Night

Flamenco

Flamenco

Almond Joy

Almond Joy

Peach Sunset

Peach Sunset

Scarlet

Scarlet

Sandalwood Musk

Sandalwood Musk

Happy Lunar New Year to all of you! Thank you so much for taking time to read my blog and leave comments. You’ve all been so helpful, inspiring and encouraging, making my soapy journey so much more fun and meaningful.  May the Year of the Horse bring all of us galloping love, happiness and success! 🙂

27 thoughts on “A Galloping Happy New Year of the Horse!

  1. Marika

    Happy New Year to you and your family!
    I was looking at your soaps and one after another I was thinking “that is my favorite, no that one!”. I can´t decide. But Sandalwood Musk was the one that I thought that is the technique that I also want to try.

    Reply
  2. Monica Glaboff (@SoapSudsations)

    Happy Chinese New Year Silvia! Any excuse is a good excuse to get family together for a great meal, isn’t it?

    Your soaps are all so gorgeous! I have to say Sandalwood Musk is my favourite though, I love the colour combination and how delicate it looks. It’s a perfect soap for ringing in the New Year, in my opinion.

    I hope your wish for much success comes true. 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      True, anything to get the family together is always a good excuse, and as you know, it has to involve food. Are you doing anything special for Chinese New Year, Monica? 🙂

      Reply
      1. Monica Glaboff (@SoapSudsations)

        I’m actually not doing anything this year. A friend of mine invited us for dinner on CNY, but I don’t think she’d put 2 and 2 together and realized it was CNY. I know I didn’t. 🙂

        Do post some pictures of your dinner so I can live vicariously, okay? 😉

        Reply
  3. Oksana Mylchik

    Сильвия, счастливого китайского Нового года! Пускай он принесёт только удачу и процветание вашей семье!
    Какое великолепие! Очень сложно остановиться на каком-то одном мыле – все работы очень красивы.

    Reply
  4. DivaSoap

    Have a good fun with your family on New Year’s Eve,Silvia! My first thought when scrolling down was: ‘God, how many soaps has this woman made?’ Like zillion? However, they are all, absolutely all gorgeous, I just can’t not tell how Lavender Mist is subtle with its dancing swirls.
    Thank you too, for being so kind, supportive and friendly all this time!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I know, I am gaga about soap! LOL! I’ve slowed down a lot from the soapmaking frenzy of the holidays. Thankfully, I still get small orders here and there so I try to keep a little stock. And I just enjoy experimenting, like most, if not all, soap makers.
      Thank you for always being so warm, Maja. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Amy @10thAve.

    They are all really lovely. A delicate swirl of color can make a bar of soap look so elegant! I think Peach Sunset and Sandalwood Musk would be my favorites, if I had to pick.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Amy! Look-wise, Sandalwood musk is also my favorite, but scent-wise, it’s Peach Sunset. Funny, but it contains no peach f.o., only lavender and white grapefruit, but somehow the resulting smell reminds me of peaches!

      Reply
  6. Vicki

    Happy Chinese New Year! We’re having a Chinese takeaway tonight to join in the celebrations – crispy duck mmmmmm….. :-D. Another gorgeous and creative selection of soaps Silvia. I particularly love Flamenco and Lavender Mist. What a shame you’re not so keen on the scent of a couple (though your descriptions did make me laugh – sorry!)

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Ooh, crispy duck! Yum! 🙂
      I also love the simplicity of Flamenco and Lavender Mist, but I’m not sure now if I know how to recreate Lavender Mist.LOL!
      Sigh, Midsummer Night has been relegated to the donation box while Sandalwood Musk was given away last Christmas.
      Thank you, Vicki, for being such a wonderful fellow traveller in this soapy blog ride. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Gordana

    I am so impressed with number of different soaps you made! They are so beautiful! I whish you happy Chinese New year and many more new soap creations!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I really appreciate support and thoughtfulness, Gordana. You also inspire me with your all-natural products and experiments with various ingredients. Many thanks, Gordana!

      Reply
  8. Pingback: Custom Stamp Giveaway: Share a Soaping Tip or Trick | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

