Color Riot

Last month, while I was going through Time magazine, I came across an article about the release of the 2 former members of the Russian punk protest group, Pussy Riot.  Nadezhda Tolokonnikova and Maria Alekhina, who both spent 21 months in prison for charges of hooliganism, have been in the media spotlight for a while, but I never really followed their story.  However, at that moment I was reading the news, I had a sudden hit of inspiration.  It was so clear in my head – I was going to make soap called Color Riot, and it was going to be just that: an explosion of colors.

It was my first time to have the name of the soap come first before the fragrance and the design. I usually decide on the fragrance first, then the look.  The name comes much much later because I usually have a hard time coming up with one.  What about you?  What kind of conceptualisation process do you go through?

If you haven’t noticed, I tend to be a bit restrained with my use of colors.  Aside from titanium dioxide, I normally use just one or two other colors, and more often than not, they’re on the sedate side. It has only been the last few months that I started to achieve better color saturation and contrast.  (Click here , here, and here to see my earlier color-challenged soaps.)  Color Riot is thus quite a departure from my usual look.  It is bold and loud.  So not me.  But I love it!

Color Riot

Color Riot

I really liked the ease and outcome of the drop swirl technique in Desert Dune, so I decided to do the same for Color Riot. For the first time ever, I used 5 colors: white (titanium dioxide), periwinkle blue, raging raspberry, neon yellow, and neon green.  It is scented with Mango Pomegranate – a fun, tart, and fruity smell.
Color Riot 1

Color Riot 2

Bleeding Pink

I made Color Riot last Jan. 26.  I looked at it almost everyday and didn’t notice any bleeding of colors until I steamed it the other day.  It had very light soda ash, mostly just on the two end pieces.  I normally would leave it as is, but because of its name, I wanted the colors to really pop.  Has anyone experienced this after steaming?

Aside from Color Riot, I made one other neon-colored soap last year.  When I saw the colors in the cut soap, I hated it!  I thought it was gaudy.  After a while, I thought it was fun and learned to like it.  Fragrance used was patchouli raspberry, which I renamed Happy Hippie.  I later found out that Lush had a product with the same name.  I will have to think of another name should I do a remake.  The colors used in this soap are similar to those in Color Riot, but I don’t remember now if the colors bled.  If it did, I didn’t notice.
Happy Hippie

23 thoughts on “Color Riot

  1. Gordana

    This is real color explosion! I really like the look of boat soap, they are so interesting and vivid! At this moment I am not sure that I would be “brave” enough to play with colors like this, but I will definitely try some colorants in soap soon! Those soaps are real inspiration!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hahaha! 6 months ago, I wouldn’t have thought of using neon colors. But as I always say even to myself, never say never. All I can say is that it’s fun trying different things. Looking forward to seeing you play with colorants in your soaps, Gordana. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jenny

    Both soaps are gorgeous, Silvia. I love the droplet patterns in the Color Riot. Such pretty neon colors, and the scent sounds perfect. Sometimes I choose the look of a soap based on the FO I want to use, and sometimes I pick an FO based on how I want the soap to look. 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you for sharing how you go about conceptualising your soap, Jenny. I am so looking forward to the soaps you will be making for the S.O.A.P. panel. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Infusions

    The colors are vibrant and beautiful! I like both soaps, but the droplets of the Color Riot are so sweet!
    I will be experimenting with colors as well so I hope to be brave enough to achieve colors as beautiful as yours.

    Maya

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Your soaps always look delicate and elegant, Maya. I know what you mean about being brave with using bold colors. It was a gradual process for me. Have fun playing with colors! 🙂

      Reply
  4. DivaSoap

    Love it, Silvia. I love colourful soap designs and I like experimenting with colour&design scheme. I’m on the other side, I just sometimes have a heavy hand with dosing, wanting to make sure colour will actually look as in my mind.
    The pink looks beautiful, I never would have spotted myself it’s bleeding,so don’t worry. Better to bleed in soap, than out of it, 🙂
    I have had this happen, but only in this case of overdosing, but I don’t think it is the predominant reason, it’s maybe just type of dye!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I’ve noticed that you’re not afraid to use colors, so that’s quite a compliment coming from you. Colors are still a bit new to me, but I totally get it now why you love them. 🙂

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Glynith! The drop swirl or droplet technique is actually quite easy even though it looks complicated. Since you are just starting out, you may be interested to check out Amy Warden’s Soap Challenge Club. It’s a great place to learn a new technique each month, and you get to meet other soapers as well. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Monica

    Color Riot, what a fantastic name! I think your pairing of the scent is perfect with such an explosion of colour. 5 colours must be quite difficult to work with, so kudos to you for doing it and with such beautiful results.

    I find trying to find a good scent to pair with a soap can be a challenge, esp when there are so many amazing scents out there.

    I haven’t seen Lush’s Happy Hippie, but I bet yours is way better than their product. It reminds me of a sherbet we used to buy to mix with 7-Up to make a fruity punch.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Aww, thanks, Monica! 🙂 Making the droplets is quite easy, what takes long is mixing the colors.
      You’re right, it’s a challenge to find the perfect scent to go with a soap. I have managed to amass quite a bit of fragrances, but I have not used all of them, and from the ones I’ve tried, there are just a handful that I really like. Now that you mention it, Happy Hippie does remind me of Baskin Robbins’ rainbow sherbet. It was my cousin’s favorite. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

