40 Things About Me

Last May 2, 2013, I emailed Jennifer of Jenora Soaps to let her know I admired her work and to ask her some questions.  I was so excited to receive her immediate reply.  She wanted to be posted on my progress and asked if I had a blog.  Umm, no. But that gave me the push I needed, and so my first post was published on May 11.

I used my blog to document my new hobby on soap making. I didn’t know anything about blogging and I was just in my own little world.  I visited a lot of blogs, but it never occurred to me to leave comments.  After a few lonesome months all by myself, I read somewhere about the importance of leaving comments.  And so I did.  It felt good to interact and slowly become a part of the soaping community.  My blog was no longer just about soap, without feelings.  It started to be a little bit of an extension of myself.

Please don’t worry, SoapJam will still be primarily about soap!  But I would also like to share a little bit about food, travel, discoveries, DIY, and things that catch my attention – subjects I think most of us share common interests in.

I am a very private person and prefer to remain in the background or anonymous.   But after being here for nearly a year and enjoying your company, I thought it would be nice if you knew a little bit about me. It would be an honour if our awesome little community also got to know a little bit about you. 🙂

So let me start the ball rolling…

1.  My name is Silvia, but friends and family call me Bunny – a nickname my late father gave me when I was small.

2. I live with my husband and 2 dogs, Thor – a pug, and Chewie – a shi-tzu, in Cebu City, Philippines.

3.  I am crazy about Chewie.  Please don’t judge me for playing favorites.

4.  I’m addicted to making soap (isn’t it obvious?)

5.  I love blogging and the people I meet here.

6.  I hoard tea towels and kitchen towels.

7.  I have a thing for pure linen, especially vintage.

8.  I love porcelain, china, and glass.

9.  I love cookware, kitchen gadgets, tools and equipments.  A lot of them are useful for making soap, too.

10.  I love cute/small containers.

11.  I love carbs in all forms, and cheese, from mild to stinky.

12.  Comfort food for me is a bowl of hot noodle soup (wonton noodle, pho, ramen, etc.)

13.  I was a vegan for 5 months in 2011, after reading The China Study by T. Colin Campbell. Christmas came and the ham did me in.  I now eat anything but I wouldn’t mind going vegetarian again.

14.  I have struggled with procrastination my whole life.  Sometimes I win, sometimes I lose.

15.  I think I have ADHD.  It’s so hard to focus on one thing, unless it becomes an obsession.

16.  My memory is bad.  My college roommate and I think it’s because of all the disposable aluminum pans we used back then.  Her memory is also bad.

17.  I am tech-challenged, but I will learn if I really really have to.  I will hang on to my antiquated phone and computer as long as I can.

18.  I am considered anti-social in the world of social media.  Not wanting to be completely irrelevant, I am trying to change this.  I used FB for a few months and didn’t open it for over 4 years until last year.

19.  I have been running 2 small cafes the past 15 years.

20.  My passion for cooking and baking has been overshadowed by soap making.

21.  I am guilty of neglecting my work.  I should fire myself already.

22.  I love the people I work with. When they’re not giving me a headache.

23.  My family is fruity and nutty, but I love them anyway.

24.  I love my husband and his family.  It’s far from perfect, but I am happy to be married to him and to have in-laws from heaven.

25.  I don’t have many friends, but the few I have, I treasure.

26.  My friends are scattered all over the world.  I would like to be better at keeping in touch.  FB seems to be the answer, but I still need to learn to embrace it.

27.  I enjoy walking and letting my mind wander.

28.  I like quiet.

29.  I love staying at home.  Maybe a little too much.  Luckily my husband likes staying home too.

30.  I admire Anne Marie Faiola of Bramble Berry.  I think she’s a genius and Superwoman.

31.  I would like to be as crafty as Martha Stewart.  I also wouldn’t mind to be as wealthy as she is.  But honestly I wouldn’t know what to do with all that money.

32.  I would like to learn how to sew, make pottery, write calligraphy, etch wood, do all sorts of paper craft, study about herbs and natural medicine, and learn how to become a perfumer or a nose.

33.  I love paper.  I used to collect stationery and barter single sheets with my elementary classmates.

34.  I would like to learn graphic design, but since I am not very good with computers, I will just let someone else do it.

35.  I enjoy photography.

36.  My favorite attire, or what I call my uniform, is a t-shirt, pair of jeans, and ballet flats.

37.  My favorite accessories are a pair of earrings and a scarf.

38.  My favorite scents are Arancia and Mirto, both by Aqua di Parma.  I also like Eau Ressourcante by Clarins, and I have very fond childhood memories of Tartine et Chocolat, and Love Baby Soft.

39.  I am too lazy to fix my hair and blow dry it, so I opted to cut it short instead of tying it in a bun or pony tail all the time.

40.  My husband stumbled upon this ad campaign.  I never tire of it and I am in love with the music and choreography.

Whew, I got carried away.  I didn’t think it would reach forty.  🙂

Thank you for taking time to read my blog.  I hope you linger around, and if we haven’t met yet, I would love to make your acquaintance.  🙂

Below the title of every post is a button that says “Leave a Reply” or “Reply”.  Wordpress requires that you leave your name and email address (won’t be shown) before you can write your comment.  It is a bit inconvenient but you have to fill up the required fields only once.  You won’t need to with your future comments.

Chewie

Chewie

40 thoughts on “40 Things About Me

  1. mijnzeep1

    You are funny, Silvia 🙂
    I do recognize myself in some of the things you have just described here.
    I am kind of surprised by your 19th point.
    It’s nice to know more about you!

    Reply
  2. DivaSoap

    Well,well,well, what do we have here?!
    So nice to know more details of your life and personality. I’m sure not only me and Nat will see many features in common,but I suppose it’s kinda expected. I’m curious cat, I always imagine the face behind a blog and sometimes I ask for more details from somebody’s life, but mostly I stay quitly and politely distant. But, always,always imagine….
    There are a few people from our community that I can call friends, and our coversations have grown up from purely soap talk, to very personal chat.
    It’s the most valuable what one could gain.
    I’m so glad you expose yourself and I see a warm, nice and sincere soul behind all these words you have written so far. Feeling lucky to get connected to someone from the other side of the planet and I’m looking forward to discovering more of your part of the world!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I feel like a snail who came out of its shell.:p But I’m happy I did, and it’s great to be able to connect and establish meaningful relationships with my readers. I agree, it’s the most valuable thing one could gain from this little activity we call blogging. I’ve always guessed you’ve got a great imagination. From the comment interactions we’ve had, I have a little idea about you, but would love to know more about you, Maja. 🙂

      Reply
  3. sharrielynn

    That was awesome! You also made me think about how little I share about myself on my blog (Now
    my kids and pets…That’s a whole different story…) Chewie is super cute, by the way 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Sharrielynn! I think most of us soapers tend to be private, but there’s something nice about knowing a little bit about the people we interact with, even if it’s just through blog comments. Love the photo you have with your daughter, by the way. 🙂 Yeah, I don’t know how many times a day I tell Chewie he is so cute. He’s a very confident dog. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Jenny

    Enjoyed reading your post and learning more about you, Silvia! We have some things in common. I’m also a bit of a homebody (although I do enjoy the occasional adventure) and I like the quiet. I’m pretty introverted and mostly keep to myself. Blogging has been a wonderful way to reach out to others. It’s nice being part of the soaping community and making new friends.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I agree with everything you just said about blogging and the soaping community, Jenny. I also enjoy adventure, and even though I can’t say I am an introvert, I enjoy keeping to myself. I am glad to have met you here, and I hope to know more about you. 🙂

      Reply
  5. https://mountainfarmssoap.ca/darlenes-blog/

    Nice to get to know you better Silvia:). I have some things in common with you. I really like vintage (anything), I love to garden, I love my pets and the quiet, and besides soap making, I love paper arts (cards, etc). Thanks for sharing, as it is so nice to get to meet people from all over the world.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Don’t you just love that about blogging – that you get to meet people you normally would never get to meet? More than just vintage linen, I also like a lot of other vintage stuff, mostly things for the house. 🙂 There’s just something about the workmanship of before that most modern things can’t compare. I hope to know more about you, too, Darlene. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Monica

    Oh my gosh Silvia, I feel like we were separated at birth, or at the very least, I’d like to call you one of my sisters by choice.

    I love that you posted 40 personal things about yourself, it’s been great getting to know Silvia the soaper, but I’m even happier to get to know Silvia the person. Chewie is absolutely adorable, and let’s be honest, I think every parent has their favourite child. 🙂

    Hopefully sometime in the future you’ll have another 40 interesting tidbits about yourself. Thanks again for sharing!

    p.s. You are so pretty!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Aww shucks, you make me blush! Thank you, Monica! I like that, sisters by choice. Who knows, we may have come from the same great great great great great grandfather. 🙂 I would also love to know 40 or more things about you, Monica! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Amy @10thAve.

    I enjoyed this post so much! I’m not surprised that we have much in common besides soap–homebody-ness, love of carbs and cooking, and social media reluctance. However, as much as I dislike technology, I’m glad for the friends it has enabled to meet. Many more years of succesful blogging to you! (P.S. re: #21–You should fire yourself! It would give you more time to soap!) 😀

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I’m so glad that you enjoyed this post, Amy. All of us here are somehow connected by our love for making soap, but I believe we all have much more in common that that. I wish I could fire myself but I also love my work, no, it’s a love-hate relationship. I am hoping to be able to marry everything that i like. I don’t know how, but who knows! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Alyson Swihart

    I love this post!!!! It’s great to get to know fellow soapers! I can sooo… relate to #13! I was a vegetarian for 7 years. Then I got tempted with steak … and the rest was history!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Glad you decided to drop by, and welcome to my blog, Alyson! Wow, 7 years of being a vegetarian! I find it hard to stick to a vegetarian diet when everyone else is not. We try though to eat less meat. 🙂

      Reply
  9. ecovioletsoap

    Hi Silvia, I feel like I have met a kindred spirit halfway around the world! I am a bit reserved myself and not really into social media but I love blogging and meeting like minded people from around the world. I love your list of interests- it mirrors my list: soaping, cooking, photography etc…. Interesting that you mentioned wanting to learn to sew #32. I was obsessed with sewing the past few years (and still am) and originally started blogging about sewing. My sewing blog is http://dashingmarmot.wordpress.com which incidentally is my “cooking” blog too. Since I started the soaping blog, my soaping ossession has currently overtaken my other hobbies (except maybe eating good food!). I would love to read more about your other interests (food, travel, DIY). Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      We do have a lot in common, JV! When I finally get serious about sewing, I know where to head over. I bought a small sewing machine a few years ago, but I’ve only sewn simple aprons. I want to make canvas pouches for my soaps but I honestly don’t think I have the time to do all of it! I forgot to include it in my list, but also I want to learn how to silk screen. Thanks for sharing your interests and I hope to know more about you through your blogs. 🙂

      Reply
      1. ecovioletsoap

        Wow! I actually tried silk screening. I have all the supplies – the screens, the diazo photo emulsion, printing inks, the whole shebang. I wasn’t very good at it- making the screens was kind of a pain. I also like fabric dyeing. I’d love to try shibori someday. Oh so many hobbies, so little time. So far the soaping bug is really sticking though – similar to how I felt about sewing awhile back.

        Reply
        1. soapjam Post author

          Wow, JV! I love how you are into so many crafts! I have all these things I want to do, even just to try, but have not yet managed to do so. I hope to be bitten by the sewing bug one of these days. You’re so right, so many hobbies, so little time! 🙂

          Reply
  10. Infusions

    I wish I were brave enough to do as you did in the above post. I am happy to know more about one of my soap-blog friends. Thank you for sharing all the above. It was fun to read and very heart-warming. Though I have known you for just a short time, somehow all of it fits the image I had of you in my mind 🙂
    Very much looking forward to your next posts!

    Maya

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Maya! Sometimes I wonder if I got carried away with my blogging joy and over shared? That’s the shy me speaking, but I have to tell that part of me we live just once. 🙂

      Reply
  11. Gordana

    Dear Silvia, I so enjoyed reading all things that you generously shared with us! I can recognize myself in many of those things you written: quiet, like to stay at home (so opposite from my husband) , have one dog, obsessed with soapmaking 🙂 It is really amazing how blog connects people all around world! I am really looking forward to your new post!

    Reply
  12. soapjam Post author

    Dear Gordana, honestly, I had to think about it for a long time before doing this “share”. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed reading this post and to know we have many things in common. Me too, I am so amazed at how blogs connect people from all over the globe. 🙂

    Reply
  13. Cee

    How nice to put a face to the name, it’s so nice to “meet” you Silvia 🙂 I really enjoyed reading your list, and I can definitely relate to quite a few of your traits. Thanks for sharing that!

    Reply
  14. soapjam Post author

    Hi Cee, so glad to hear you enjoyed reading my list. The fact that all of us are addicted to making soap somehow reveals that we’re probably not that different from each other, despite our different backgrounds. 🙂

    Reply
  15. Vicki

    I love this post Silvia! It’s lovely to find out more about you, away from the soaping side of things. I do really enjoy soapy blogs which also share personal and/or non soapy stuff – I keep thinking I should try to do so a bit more myself (though I worry that people will stop reading if I move away from the soapy side :-D) On a separate note I’m really surprised you only started blogging last May – I assumed your blog had been going for ages, it’s seems so established and confident! It’s a pleasure to ‘know’ you better and I look forward to sharing more in the future 🙂

    PS, I too love soaping (of course!), cooking, blogging, carbs & cheese and noodle soup!! I also like crochet (just learning) running (except not just now as I have a bad ankle), reading (when I find the time) and playing with my little ones (aged 3yrs and 9months). I also have a serious Pinterest addiction lol. Oh, and I’ve just found your FB page and liked it!

    Reply
  16. soapjam Post author

    You just gave me probably the best compliment I’ve ever received about my blog. Thank you so much, Vicki! 🙂 And thank you, too, for sharing a little bit about yourself. It’s nice to know we like the same things. 🙂
    I like Pinterest (I follow you – love your pins!) but it’s not on the same level as my addiction to blog surfing. Like you, I enjoy reading soapy blogs with a human side. I can also totally relate with you about worrying if readers will still be interested if I segued into non-soapy stuff. But you know what, i figured that if I am to build a relationship with the people who actually take time to read and leave comments, I can’t remain distant and impersonal. I would love to read non-soapy/personal posts from you. I think your regular readers will appreciate it. 🙂
    Thank you for liking my FB page! I can’t see your name there. I still have to learn to navigate my way through FB. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Vicki

      😀 Ok, you’ve convinced me! I’m neglecting my blog a little at the moment as there is so much to do for ‘The Big Move’ (which is happening in less than 2 weeks – eeeeek!) but once I get back into it properly I’ll start sharing a bit more… Thanks for the encouragement 😀

      Reply
  17. soapjam Post author

    You know, it’s so heartwarming to hear that you enjoyed this post. 🙂
    We have many things in common, Roxana. 🙂 I was also a quiet blog stalker for a very long time. Things changed when I started blogging myself. As you said, it’s great to join in the conversation and have friends to share experiences with. 🙂

    Reply
  18. Roxana

    I love this post Silvia!!! (Did you have it posted all this time and I just realized it?!) LOL
    I was smiling at a couple of bullets you shared. Like you I am a home body, and like the quiet of it all. I am also obsessed with Soaping and for the longest I was the quiet stalker of many soap blogs before I decided to join in the conversation. I am glad I finally did! Now I have soapy friends to share new experiences with! Thank you for doing this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

