Drop Swirl Variation

I didn’t sign up for this month’s Soap Challenge Club even though the Drop Swirl is currently my favourite technique.  In between travelling, having house guests, and getting the flu, I knew I was not going to be able to make a new batch before the registration deadline.  But I’d like to share anyway the last Drop Swirl soap I made last Feb. 16. 

After dropping the coloured portions into the white base, I swirled it with a chopstick.  I don’t know if there is another name for this technique, but to me it is still a drop swirl.  Please let me know if there is a proper name for this.

It is scented with Neroli and Grapefruit, the same fragrance I used for January’s Taiwan Swirl challenge. The pink came out darker than I wanted it to be, but nonetheless, I’m pretty happy with the outcome.

Puppy love 2

Puppy Love 1

Puppy Love 3

Puppy Love 4

Puppy Love 5

Puppy Love 6

Puppy Love

33 thoughts on “Drop Swirl Variation

  1. DivaSoap

    I don’t know if there is a name for this technique, I’ve done several soaps like this (‘Silkberry’ came across my mind) and I like the effect. The other night, I chose a hanger, instead of chopstick, still nice.
    This one is gorgeous, I think you’ve really mastered the techinque, so so so beautiful. And I must say, I love this colour combo, is it the same as in Taiwan? Pink is perfect!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Yes, this is exactly like the Taiwan Swirl. I really love the smell so I am making it a permanent feature. 🙂
      Can’t wait to see the new ones you’ve made. I bought hangers for swirling but I’ve never used them. I think the chopsticks are less messy and I’m all about less mess! Do you have a preference – chopsticks or hanger?
      Thank you, Maja.

      Reply
  2. Sue

    Those soaps are gorgeous! I love the pink and black with the natural soap color. 🙂 And I loooove your stamp, so professional looking!!

    Reply
  3. soapsudsations

    I love this Silvia! Chopsticks are obviously a more natural tool for you and you’ve done an amazing job, as always. The swirls are so crisp and the colour combination is fabulous.

    BTW, hope you’re all better now.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Ironically, I am not that good at eating with chopsticks, although I manage. 🙂
      The flu was going around and I caught it. I’m well now. Thanks, Monica!

      Reply
  4. Infusions

    Silvia, this is such a beautiful soap! love the colors and the lines of the swirl – elegant is the first word that comes to mind. I have seen
    other soaps made with the drop and chopstick swirl (a coouple of weeks ago I found one tutorial on the u-tube) but nothing has been made so beautifully as your soap above. The pink color stands up to the black making the contrast all the more impressive so I think it is better it is not paler.
    I am alittle sorry that you did not join the Soap Challenge Club this month. With such a beautiful soap people would love voting for you.

    Reply
  5. soapjam Post author

    Thank you for your vote of confidence, Maya. 🙂 I think I got lucky with this one. It’s kinda hard to always get a consistent design, but that’s part of the thrill with soap making. All the best on the Soap Challenge! 🙂

    Reply
  6. ecovioletsoap

    Silvia,
    I love the pink and black together! You have this technique down! I signed up for the challenge but have been so busy with my grad classwork and projects, that I haven’t been able to have any soap design fun lately. I just hope I can get something in just to try the drop swirl.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, JV. That’s really awesome that you’re able to juggle grad school into your life. 🙂
      The drop swirl is actually one of the easiest techniques. I also hope you manage to squeeze in some soapy time. All the best on the Soap Challenge. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Marika

    Those colors are not too dark at all. They are all my favorite colors 🙂 And the swirls turned out very clear and not as blended as I normally get.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Marika, was your soap batter very thin when you poured into the mold? Sometimes I also get the blended look, but as long as I wait until it is slightly thick, the lines come out clear. 🙂

      Reply
  8. Cee

    Stunning! I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been sick 😦 The technique is gorgeous, and I love how there is just enough uncolored portion to fit your stamp! =)

    Reply
  9. kaye

    Beautiful!!! I been trying to do drop swirls but my soap batter always thickens too fast. I will keep working at it though.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thanks for visiting and for your comment. It takes a bit of practice and familiarity with your formula and fragrance oils. Good luck! You’ll get there soon. 🙂

      Reply
  10. Pingback: Tivoli | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

