1st Soap Anniversary & Giveaway Winner

SoapJam 1st Bday

Don’t you love my 2-tiered chocolate birthday cake?  A big thank you to my friend,  Bry O. – talented, albeit sardonic graphic designer and comic writer – for picking out this cake for me and making it extra special with the lettering.  I am also very grateful to him for helping me with my logo, sticker, and soap wrapper. 🙂

It’s hard to believe it has been a year since I made my first soap. I remember how nervous and excited I was. The soap didn’t turn out so well, but taking that first step made me realise that soap making wasn’t as scary or difficult as I thought it would be.  It is, however, very challenging and highly addicting!

I wish I had saved a bar of my first soap, but the entire batch, along with many others, went into the donation box last November. By then, it had shrunken quite a bit.  I did keep a few pieces from the succeeding batches. I removed them from the drawer last week and took this photo:

Top (L-R): Gregory Lee White's Basic Soap, Aloe Vera, Anne Watson's Basic Soap Middle: "Ambitious" Soap, Beer and Egg  Bottom: Green Velvet, Charcoal & Oatmeal

Top (L-R): Gregory Lee White’s Master Batch Basic Soap, Aloe Vera, Anne L. Watson’s Basic Soap (70% Olive Oil, 30% Coconut Oil)
Middle: “Ambitious” Soap (charcoal and turmeric), Beer and Egg
Bottom: Green Velvet (it was greenish for a few days), Charcoal & Oatmeal

My “Ambitious” soap had the most notable change. The off-white portion used to be orange from the turmeric. Since it was wrapped with paper, I wouldn’t know when the colour started to fade. Click here to see how it looked a year ago, and to know why I called it Ambitious Soap.

The only bar that developed the dreaded orange spot, or DOS, was the aloe vera soap. Out of the 4 bars that I kept, it appeared only on one.

The beer and egg soap shrunk the most. I wrote the recipe here. As you can see, the liquid content was really high. My first few batches were at around 28% lye concentration.  As I understood soap making more, I moved it up to 33%.  These days I normally soap at 35-37% lye concentration.

🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀

And now, for the winner of the giveaway…….

The custom soap stamp goes to Maja of Diva Soap!

I wrote the name of every participant on a piece of paper and noted whether it came from my blog or Facebook. Maja had an entry in each, and it was her Facebook entry that got picked.  In this case, having the highest probability worked in her favor.

Congratulations, Maja! Please email me your logo at info at soapjam dot com.

To all of you, thanks a million for reading and leaving comments. My soaping adventure would have been a shade less fun if it weren’t for your company. 🙂

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “1st Soap Anniversary & Giveaway Winner

  1. Amy@10th Ave.

    Congratulations on your first year of soaping, Silvia! I think it’s really cool that you saved samples of many of your first batches. I never even took pictures of my early soaps.

    yay for Maja!! Can’t wait to see your design!

    Reply
  2. soapsudsations

    Happy anniversary Silvia! Love the cake, so cute! You’ve made some amazing soaps in a very short time and are a great inspiration for me.

    Congrats to Maja for winning the stamp. Like Amy, I can’t wait to see her design.

    Reply
  3. ecovioletsoap

    Happy Anniversary Silvia and congrats to Maja for winning the soap stamp! It was fun to see your past soaps. I think that you have come a long way and the soaps you make these days are extraordinary!

    Reply
  4. Marika

    Happy first Birthday to SoapJam! And you Silvia. I also keep 1-2 soaps that are my favorites and some change a lot and to my surprise some don´t. I used the last soap from my first batch over a year ago, but I still have 1 bar of mango soap that was probably one of my 10 first soaps. I used a bar in January and it had tons of bubbles.
    Congratulations also to Maja!

    Reply
  5. Cee

    Congrats to the lucky Maja! I think she has been without internet for a few days here and there, but hopefully she will be in contact soon….she will be so excited! 🙂

    Reply
  6. mijnzeep1

    Congratulations to Maja! I remember her comment when she saw your post about stamp, she is cetainly the one who deserves it! Can’t wait to see now her next soaps!
    Thanks Silvia and happy anniversary!

    Reply
  7. DivaSoap

    Wooooooooooow! That was deep and long wow! I can’t believe it, did I really read my name there? Thank you Silvia million times for this stamp.
    I still don’t have logo design prepared, but now I’ll have to work on it (or rather have it made 🙂 ) quite seriously.
    Happy anniversary, wish you many more happy , prosperous years to come!
    Cee is right, I’m not home and have a lousy Wi-Fi internet, but I seem to catch up with news anyway!
    Thanks again Silvia and thank you everyone for your lovely words!

    Reply
  8. Infusions

    Silvia, once again congratulations on your first soaping anniversary! I am very much looking forward to your sharing with us your soaping adventures! You have achieved so much in just one year so I believe that your soapingbusiness will be avbig success.

    Maya

    Reply
  9. Jenny

    Congrats to Maja for winning the soap stamp, and congrats to you, Silvia on your one-year soaping anniversary! I remember being scared to death when I made my first batch of soap. I was sure that I was going to blow the house up. I still have a bar from my very first batch. It’s very plain-looking and the scent faded. It’s fun to go back and look at early batches!

    Reply
  10. Gordana

    Happy anniversary Silvia and congratulations to Maja! This stamp will really add special touch to such beautiful Diva soaps made by Maja!

    Reply
  11. soapjam Post author

    Thank you all for your kind and warm wishes! I appreciate it very much and looking forward to another exciting soapy year.

    Maja, I am excited to give you your soap stamp. I hope you can give me your logo soon so I can have a friend who’s going to Germany at end of this month mail it from there. That way it will reach you faster.

    Reply
  12. Vicki

    Oh I missed your anniversary! Congratulations :0) I’m astounded that you’ve only been making soap for a year – your soaps are amazing, I really thought it had been longer! Anyway, long may it last – I love reading your blog and hope to do so for many more years to come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

