Healing Balm and Sugar Scrub

I want to make soap all the time that it’s hard for me to venture into other skin care products.  But I promised myself that this year I was going to accomplish the items on my to-do list.  I am happy to report that I have already ticked off two items.

1. All-Around Skin Balm – This is my third time to make this, but each time I slightly tweak the formula. It is jam-packed with all things good for the skin.  The lovely light avocado green colour comes from olive oil infused with moringa powder.

Healing Balm

Healing Skin Balm

Moringa Oleifera,  called kamunggay in Cebuano, or malunggay in Tagalog, is a commonly eaten vegetable that grows everywhere.  The mild-tasting leaves are usually added to clear vegetable soups, and are given to lactating mothers to encourage milk flow.  According to Trees for Life, these are the nutritional benefits of moringa:

Moringa-diagram
Aside from the moringa-infused olive oil, the balm also contains: cocoa butter, beeswax, virgin coconut oil, pili oil (canarium luzonicum or canarium ovatum), vitamin E, and several essential oils and herbal infusions known for their skin healing properties. Last month I tried adding turmeric-infused virgin coconut oil, but it caused a bit of yellow staining. So far the people I’ve given the balm to like it. They’ve noticed that itching from mosquito bites instantly goes away.

2.  Sugar Scrub – I made a very simple sugar scrub last year and I liked the way it made my skin feel so smooth.  This year I wanted to try the emulsified kind.  I could have made it months ago, but I have been dilly dallying until Cee of Oil and Butter came out with her tutorial, and I really had no more excuse to put it off.

Sugar Scrub 1

The first time I made this a few days ago, I did not even bother to whip the fats. It yielded 2 small jars (about 2 cups) and I gave them to my 2 sisters. Last night I made another batch, and this time I whipped the fats. It became fluffy, and mayonnaise-like. Because of the incorporated air, I was able to get 3 jars. Since it is hot where I live, I wonder if the mousse-like scrub will eventually deflate – like whipped cream left out in the heat.

Sugar Scrub 2

I basically followed the recipe provided by Cee but substituted the grape seed oil with almond oil and the shea butter with coconut oil. 
Thank you, Cee, for the wonderful tutorial, and for being instrumental in the making of this sugar scrub. 🙂

Wishing you all a Happy Easter! 🙂

Update 4/23/14:

The whipped emulsion did not hold in my hot bathroom. This is how it looks now:

image

23 thoughts on “Healing Balm and Sugar Scrub

  1. Marika

    Both balm and sugar scrub looks lovely. I´m also going to try Cee´s sugar scrub but I have not yet had the time to buy all the ingredients.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Marika. I much prefer the emulsified scrub than the unemulsified version. It feels less oily, and my skin feels so smooth. I hope you get to try it soon. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Kerry Lamb

    I love your blog. It always makes me feel uplifted and motivated to keep exploring CP soap-land :). Your chrysanthemum soaps..how many moulds do you pour at one time? Do you have many, many of them? And do they unmold well? Also, do you a brilliant contact for soap stamps? I am planning my business launch in Tasmania, Australia and there is so much to get organised! Thanks!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Welcome to my blog, Kerry! It makes me happy knowing that my blog has motivated someone. 🙂
      When I make individual-shaped soaps, I make only 12 at a time. From my experience, I find that the following are crucial for easy release and to have a smooth, flat base:
      1. Batter has to be thin and fluid for easy pour and to get all the fine details of the mold.
      2. Sodium lactate and water discount are needed for a perfect release.
      3. I like to gel my soaps for extra hardness but small-sized soaps usually don’t generate enough heat to go through gel phase. I correct this by placing the soaps in a pre-heated 45C oven. When the soaps are in the oven, I turn it off. I tried leaving it on for 30 to 60 minutes and many times the soaps would develop bubbles or a wrinkly top. It’s really a lot of trial and error.
      I don’t know of anyone here who specializes in making soap stamps, but what I found out was that anyone who makes plaques (for awards and trophies)and business signage can do it. Find someone local and it will save you money and shipping! 🙂
      Good luck with your business! Do you have a blog or website?

      Reply
  3. soapsudsations

    Good for you for getting those things off your to do list Silvia! Your skin balm sounds so lovely and the fact it takes away mosquito bite itching immediately should make those fly off the shelf when you’re ready to sell. Is moringa only found in the Phillippines?

    So when can I be adopted as your sister so I can partake in your wonderful creations? 😉

    Reply
  4. soapjam Post author

    Moringa is native to parts of Africa and Asia, but is widely grown in many tropical and subtropical places.
    But you already are my adopted sister, Monica! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Jenny

    The balm and the sugar scrub both look great, Silvia! The little jars for the scrubs are so cute. And I love both patchouli and cedarwood – I’ll bet they smell so nice together in the balm.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Jenny! I collect jars, or maybe hoard is a more accurate word, and I’ve had these for a few years already. I also use the same kind of jars for chocolate mousse.
      I am still trying to get used to the smell of cedar and patchouli. They are a bit too woody and earthy for me, but I think with the right combination, they’d be great. I still have to experiment more. 🙂

      Reply
  6. anne-marie

    Healing balms are so wonderful. Moringa is a unique addition that many don’t know about. Thanks for sharing =)

    Reply
  7. DivaSoap

    Ooh, it’s pity that emulsified scrub melted. How does balm hold? Do you keep it in the fridge? They both look great, no doubt they feel,too, but the climate will push you to come up with some ‘holding-on’ tweaks again,right? I though emulsifier will keep it solid, maybe to add some thickener? Oh god, how hot is there?

    Reply
  8. soapjam Post author

    Balm is doing fine. I keep it at room temp. Beeswax is hard to melt.
    Yeah, I need to tweak the recipe of the scrub. Average temperature is around 30C. My bathroom can get pretty hot because it gets the afternoon sun. I have another jar in the kitchen and it didn’t separate like the one in my bathroom.

    Reply
    1. DivaSoap

      Oh well, then I guess you don’t need to change the recipe. It’s obvious that your bathroom is exposed to extreme conditions, and toiletries are not supposed to, right
      🙂

      Reply
  9. Gordana

    Both product look so grate! I am also hooked to balms and sugar scrubs. Once when you try them there is no way to stop using them:)! Thank you so much for sharing moringa info. When I seen it in your post I thought that it is one of those exotic ingredients that I will never have chance to try it. But I saw moringa powder yesterday in one local health food shop, so it is now on my to do list 🙂 Thanks for inspiration!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Likewise, I am hooked on the balm. I frequently get bitten by mosquitos so I use it a lot. I am kinda bummed about the scrub separating. It has gotten hotter here – it’s now 32C. I have to work on the recipe.
      Glad to hear you found moringa in your local store! Looking forward to see how you will use it. 🙂

      Reply
  10. Vicki

    Silvia these look great! You and Cee both put me to shame – I really want to try making a body scrub but as I’m struggling to find time to make soap, let alone anything else, I don’t think it’s going to happen very soon 😀 Did you fragrance the scrub with anything?

    Reply
  11. soapjam Post author

    Moving house is a huge task! My husband and I moved to the house where we are currently in almost 2 years ago. It’s just a short distance from our old condo, but having to pack and unpack, and settle-in is very tiring. I hope to never have to move again!
    Once you are settled, I am sure you will be making a lot of soaps, scrubs, and all the things on your list. 🙂
    The scrub is a delicious combination of sandalwood, orange and vanilla F .O.s 🙂

    Reply
    1. Vicki

      Oooh that blend sounds amazing! I do hope you’re right and I can get to experimenting with all these lovely creations once we’re in our new place 😀

      Reply
  12. Pingback: Marseille Facial and Baby Soaps | SoapJam

  13. Pingback: Making My Own Dried Botanicals | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

