New Look for All-Natural Line

I’ve had this stamp since February, but it was only end of last month that I started giving more time to creating an all-natural line.  I think the stamp adds a nice touch to the simplicity of the soaps.  I also decided to go for a texturised top to make it look less plain – and to have fun playing with the surface design!

My dilemma now is the packaging.  My current kraft paper wrap would go perfectly with the all-natural theme, but the uneven top makes it impractical. I am thinking of trying out plastic packaging. I know it seems contradictory, but I am interested to find out too if people will be more drawn to soap that they can see immediately.

Below is a beer soap I made a month ago.  I used my standard recipe of olive oil, coconut oil, palm oil, rice bran oil, and cocoa butter.  It is exceptionally smooth, and I am surprised at how light the colour is.  I did not use T.D., only kaolin clay at 1% of my oils by weight.  I don’t know how to describe the scent, but that it is mild and pleasant.  It contains 7 essential oils: bergamot, orange, peppermint, petit grain, cedar atlas, benzoin, and star anise.

Beer Soap

Beer Soap Close Up

Beer Soap

The next one is a yogurt soap scented with palmarosa, lavender, orange and grapefruit. I used white rice flour at 1% of oil weight to anchor the scent. Right now I am not quite understanding the scent.  But I don’t want to judge yet until it has fully cured in two weeks.

Palmarosa 3

Palmarosa 2

Palmarosa 1

Palmarosa Lavender Soap

 

23 thoughts on “New Look for All-Natural Line

  1. Kerry Lamb

    I love your blog and I love the new stamp. Can I ask you where you got it made?
    The packaging thing is tricky but I truly feel the plastic packaging would be an error. It puts a weird barrier between the beautiful soap and the buyer/sniffer, and so many commercial soaps have a cheap plastic wrap. Have you thought of a normal thin paper wrap, (as high as the highest part of the texture..a little big of mystery/anticipation) with a narrow cigar-band around the ‘waist’ of the soap? That would look more natural, leave the top open for smelling AND not contributing more plastic waste to our planet. Win, win win! Thanks for always inspiring me!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Kerry. Anyone who makes signage, trophies and plaques will be able to make a stamp. In fact, I use very local companies who’ve never made soap stamps before. Try checking out in your area. There are also people who sell on Etsy. I saw one from Taiwan and her prices looked reasonable. 🙂
      It is dusty in my city, and even air conditioned places are not spared. I thus prefer to cover the soap, and I find that it helps retain the scent. I am still experimenting and evolving with my packaging requirements. I already bought some plastic pouches and I’ll play with it for now. Thank you for your suggestions. I might try a variation of the cigar band in the future. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Gordana

    Stunning soaps Silvia! This type of soap is for sure my all time favorite! New stamp perfectly fits and I like the level of info it offers. When it comes to packaging it is not easy to decide. On the beginning I used only recycled paper, wrapped with raffia, with top and bottom completely exposed. However, I received feedback from one consumer that this type of packaging is not appropriate for longer soap storage since soap loses the freshness. Then I started using transparent polypropylene wrapping with appropriate label. It is easy for wrapping (I seal it with hot iron) and soap is exposed but protected. I am sure that you will find your own creative way!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you for your kind words, Gordana. You’re absolutely right about packaging. For a long time I made my soaps with a flat top so I could easily wrap it with paper. But I felt I was limited by my packaging. Recently I just went ahead and made domed and wavy tops without a clear idea how I was going to wrap it. It is a good challenge and somehow we always find a way. 🙂
      I agree with your customer about exposed soaps that’s why I have avoided it. The cigar band is an attractive way to package the soap, though.

      Reply
  3. DivaSoap

    I had the same dilema for my ‘Natural Diva’ line. I thought also that would be nice if the soap was visible through the package. To be seen, it needs to be wrapped in some kind of plastic, whether it’s cellophane, or cling film. Or, to stay unwrapped, if you don’t want plastic.
    I had two packaging solutions: 1.- brownish (looks recycled) paper with a cut window, where soap can be seen ,and the window is ‘closed’ with cellphone. This was very nice, but very time consuming.
    2. Soap wrapped with cling film, with an appropriate label, for round ones, it’s kinda wide cigar band, and for regular, rectangular shape- there is a paper wrap first and then a label. Maybe sounds confusing, you can look on my FB page, ‘Milk’ soap is wrapped this way.
    People here still don’t pay enough attention to ‘green’ packages, they prefer to see an attractive packaging, no matter what it is from. So, I think your decision must be based on your personal and mentality of the people living there. If the community is ecologically aware, you should go with ‘no plastic’ packaging, and come up with another way how soaps can be seen by customers, prior to buying.
    By the way, they look fantastic, so creamy and rich.

    Reply
      1. soapjam Post author

        Hi Maja. There is a growing environmental consciousness here, but not so much when it comes to gift packaging. People like having all the works. 😀 I personally love paper, but I am curious to know if having the product visible through the packaging will make a difference. I mean, we spend a lot of time making our soaps look good, it would be nice if they can have their moment to shine. 🙂

        Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Natalia! 🙂 I can’t believe either how fair it is. It must be the kaolin clay? I used San Miguel Pale Pilsen. I had some left over in the fridge. I lacked a little bit than what the formula called for so I had to add some water, but not much. I will have to redo this recipe, with 100% beer, and see if it still comes out this white.

      Reply
  4. Vicki

    These are beautiful in their simplicity Silvia, and the soap stamp really does come into its own on such simple designs.
    I currently use cellophane bags tied with raffia to wrap my soaps, but have been trying to come up with an alternative, more natural option, whether that be boxes or paper and cigar wraps.
    To be fair, my cellophane bags are really well received by customers, as they do look quite nice, allow the soap to be seen properly, and protect the soap from dust and superficial damage. The main problem with them I think is that you can’t smell the fragrance through them – not an issue at markets as I always have ‘naked’ samples on display, but it will be problem once I persuade some local shops to stock my soap crosses fingers. I want something that looks a bit more natural AND more professional, but doesn’t cost too much!!
    Anyway, I can understand your dilemma – packaging has always been a bit of a headache for me! Good luck, will look forward to seeing what you decide to go with.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Packaging is very challenging, not withstanding the constraints – materials available, cost, etc. I guess we all just have to keep on trying, changing, and adapting as needed.
      Ooh, will be crossing my fingers and hoping with you that local shops will display your soaps. That would be really awesome! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Monica Glaboff (@SoapSudsations)

    Love the stamp Silvia! It’s great how it gives a lot of information on the soap rather than just on the packaging. It looks beautiful especially on the milky white soap. 7 EO’s and they all sound fabulous! It must make for a beautifully complex scent, like the 5 spice powder of the soaping world. 😉

    There seems to be more and more biodegradable plastic nowadays, but probably still quite expensive for small businesses, but is that something you can look for in the future?

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hahaha! Yes, it’s like 5-spice powder for soaps. Love the way you can think of these things, Monica. 🙂
      I don’t know where to source biodegradable plastic, but it would be nice if it were available here and if it were reasonably priced. I wonder too if they have the crystal clear kind.

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you Darlene. I am surprised too with how light the beer soap is. Likewise, I love yogurt soaps for the creamy lather and for the hardness it gives to soaps.

      Reply
  6. Jenny

    Your natural soaps are gorgeous, Siliva! Simplicity is beautiful. I love the calendula on top of the Palmarosa Lavender soap – it’s a nice pop of color! Your new soap stamp looks great, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

