The Peppermint Collection

 

We’re at the height of summer and it’s sizzling hot. The internet says our temperature is 32˚C/89˚F, but it feels much hotter because of the humidity. The second floor of our house feels like an oven during midday.

When it’s this hot, I love the cooling sensation of peppermint. It also happens to be one of my all-time favourite scents.  All of the soaps in this collection are combined with other essential oils to create a refreshing, mildly minty soap.  I am missing a straight peppermint soap, but I’m afraid it would be too tingly. Does anyone have a suggested usage rate for peppermint in soap?

1. Lemongrass, Lime and Peppermint with Brown Rice Powder – I was a little bit worried about this because I disliked the smell of lemongrass straight out of the bottle.  However, mixed with lime and peppermint, the scent of the lemongrass mellows out, yet still smells distinct and wonderfully fresh. It has been at least 2 weeks, and the soap remains ash-free. Yay!
Peppermint Lemongrass 1

 

Peppermint Lemongrass 2

Lemongrass, Lime & Peppermint with Brown Rice Powder

2.  Tea Tree, Peppermint and Spearmint with Charcoal – I find tea tree oil on its own medicinal-smelling, and Spearmint too toothpaste-like.  But all three mixed together, the scent is soothing with a hint of sweetness from the spearmint.

Peppermint Tea Tree Spearmint 2

Peppermint Tea Tree Spearmint 1

Tea Tree, Peppermint and Spearmint with Activated Charcoal

3. Lemon, Eucalyptus, and Peppermint with Bentonite Clay – This one smells fresh and mildly minty. Aside from the purifying qualities of bentonite clay, I like the way it gives slip to the soap. It’s great for shaving legs.

Peppermint Eucalyptus Bentonite 2

 

Peppermint Eucalyptus Bentonite 1

Lemon, Eucalyptus, and Peppermint with Bentonite Clay

The Peppermint Collection:

Peppermint Collection 1

 

Peppermint Collection 2

18 thoughts on “The Peppermint Collection

  1. DivaSoap

    No doubt it’s the right time to use any of these soaps. I also like peppermint, straight, or blended. I don’t use e.o-s that often, but when I do, I admit, I make my blends, depending on what note I want to dominate. No particular dosage, just my nose decides. Your soaps look perfectly smooth and creamy and I like the textured tops. Are they making a ‘minty set’?

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Maja! Yes, it’s a minty set. I am selling them individually and packaging some as a set. I am enjoying using E.O.s. They’re generally much easier to handle than F.O.s. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Vicki

    Ooooh I am so envious of your hot weather! We’re well in to Spring here now but I’m still sitting in a sweater hoping we’ll get some warm weather soon 😀 What a perfect collection this is for the Summer – I particularly like the idea of Lemon and Eucalyptus EO’s with the Peppermint.

    Reply
  3. mijnzeep1

    I wish we had a little bit of your hot weather here…:)
    Your pepermint collection loos so good, Silvia! I love your use of natural ingredients like clays and rice powder and eo synergies sound good, especially lime and pepermint(+ lemongrass) should give a great touch.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Natalia! It’s so much easier and faster to make the all-natural soaps. It’s a breath of fresh air from all the colorful f.o. soaps – which I also love by the way – but can take up so much time to make. 😀

      Reply
  4. EvelynRoseSoaps

    Hi Silvia, As always, you have Gorgeous swirls in your soap! 🙂 Did you do a drop swirl for the Tea Tree, Peppermint, and Spearmint bar? It’s really lovely.
    Most of the time, I blend Peppermint with other EO’s, but when I use it a single note, I use .5 oz PPO. I also put a warning on the description. **Due to the minty natural of the essential oils used, some may find this soap too intense to use on delicate bits.*** I’ve never had anyone complain, and I’ve actually had a few ladies whisper to me that this soap is “refreshing” if I know what they mean. 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you for the peppermint usage guideline, Heather. I just whipped up a batch of straight peppermint with ground oats using .5 oz PPO. Smells fantastic! 🙂
      Yes, the black and white soap is a drop swirl. It’s one of my favorite techniques. It’s easy and practical with eye catching results. 🙂

      Reply
  5. soapsudsations

    Beautiful as always and I love the scents. Lemongrass with lime and mint sounds amazing! What great looking photos, so creative and yet allows the viewer to get a good detailed look.

    I can’t complain about our weather, we’re finally getting some nice spring temperatures.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I am envious of your spring weather, Monica. 🙂
      I am not enjoying the heat of summer, but the sun is fantastic for photos. The above photos were taken outdoors. The natural lighting makes a big difference.

      Reply
  6. Gordana

    Peppermint EO is one of my favorite. Apart from regular soaps I use it in shampoo bars also. All those soaps are just gorgeous and pictures are stunning!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thanks, Gordana. Taking pictures outdoors makes the photos look better. Sometimes though I am lazy to set up a table outside. Hahaha:D

      Reply
  7. soapjam Post author

    Thank you, Deirdre. 🙂 I am enjoying planning soaps by collections. I am also enjoying combining different E.O.s even though my repertoire is not so big. I don’t have the very expensive ones like the florals. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Cindy

    Just beautiful Silvia…your drop swirls are the best. Great minty combinations. One of my favorites is spearmint, lavender and patchouli! Great one for spring!

    Reply
  9. Jenny

    Peppermint is one of my favorites, too! It’s perfect for both the winter and the summer. I especially love the look of the swirled soap with the activated charcoal!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Remakes | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

