Fil-Castile Soap Embeds

As I mentioned in my last post, I only had 8 bars left of the Fil-Castile soap because this was where the other 7 went:

1.  Peppermint Avocado – I am one happy girl when avocado is in season. I love eating it, soaping with it, and slathering it on my face with honey and yogurt for a moisturizing and skin-refining face mask.  Avocado was the first fruit that I incorporated into my soap and it remains to be one of my favorites. To see my first avocado soap, please click here.

For this soap, I used about 10% (of oils) fresh avocado mixed with some water to make into a smooth purée. When using fruit or vegetable purées, I always let it go through a fine mesh strainer to ensure smoothness. For color contrast, I utilized the moringa sludge left behind from the oil infusion for my moringa facial soap, and for scent, I added peppermint and eucalyptus essential oils.

I took this photo a day after unmolding the soap:

Avocado Moringa 3

The actual soap was greener than what the photo above shows. Three days later, I took the photos below.  The bottom part with the moringa had become a bit lighter, but due to the lighting, it appears lighter than it actually is. I suspect the green will fade out or morph into a light yellow brown color. It is worth noting that after 2 months, the moringa facial soap with infused oil is still green although lighter.  

Avocado Moringa 1

Avocado Moringa 2

Avocado soap with peppermint, eucalyptus and moringa

Across my house, there are 3 eucalyptus trees. I decided to use some of the leaves as props. I never noticed before that some of the newly sprouted leaves were purplish red.

Eucalyptus Leaves

Eucalyptus leaves at various growth stages

Here in the Philippines, moringa grows everywhere. Once picked, the leaves tend to curl up and look wilted so it’s a good idea to dip the stems in water.

Eucalyptus leaf side by side moringa leaves

Eucalyptus leaf side by side moringa leaves

2. Orange Patchouli with Red Clay – I have read other people rave about orange and patchouli together. I now know what they’re talking about. The combo is a deep, complex and haunting scent. It’s divine! I have to admit though that it took me a while to appreciate patchouli. It does smell like dirt, but it blooms when mixed with other scents. I am crossing my fingers that the scent will hold!

For 1250 grams of oils, I used only 1/4 tsp Australian red clay to get a pale terra cotta-like color.  That stuff is potent! The actual color is a little bit darker than the photos. Red Clay Soap 3

Red Clay Soap 4Red Clay Soap 2

Red Clay Soap 5

Orange Patchouli Soap with Red Clay

 

 

15 thoughts on “Fil-Castile Soap Embeds

  1. jjbaze

    Silvia, I just read your tutorial on tapeless wrapping, what are the measurements for the brown paper? I’m new to soaping since January. Haven’t decided if I will sell, but sure getting lots of practice soaps made. I’ve been donating soap to my church and they receive the money. Enjoy your blog. Thank you. Joy Date: Thu, 22 May 2014 16:18:31 +0000 To: jjbaze@hotmail.com

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi jj! That’s really sweet of you to donate soaps to your church while you get to perfect your craft. 🙂 The soap wrapper will totally depend on the size of your soap. Experiment what size works for you best with scratch paper. Don’t forget to cut off the 4 corners! There has to be about an inch of overlap when you bring together the paper to close on the soap. For the sides, the top part, when folded, should just be enough to cover the soap. Too much of an overhang will make it bulky and hard to fold the rest of the paper. Good luck!

      Reply
  2. soapsudsations

    The embeds look so cute in these soaps! Do avocados grow in the Phillippines? (I know, I could just google it but I’m lazy). I love avocados, but they’re getting very expensive here, so I don’t want to do anything with it besides eat it.

    I love how you used the leaves of both the eucalyptus and the mooring as a complement to your soaps, it makes for very interesting photos. Does this mean you’ll be using the actual eucalyptus leaves in some project in the near future?

    Beautiful as always Silvia!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Yes, avocados grow in the Philippines. They’re relatively inexpensive especially when they’re in season. I don’t know about using actual eucalyptus leaves in soap. I have to read more on that. And just to let you know, the eucalyptus trees belong to someone else, but I thought it would not hurt to get a few leaves. Besides, the tree sheds quite a bit. 😉

      Reply
  3. DivaSoap

    I’m so curious about this patchouli-orange blend. I’ve never smelled patchouli, but can guess what it smells like- not specially inviting. But,the blend sounds tempting! Of course, they all are beautiful and really can’t believe how little you added clay to the batch, truly mighty!
    Does eucalyptus leaves smell like eucalyptus we know? Excuse my ignorance, I can only envy you for living among such exotic species!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I still do not like patchouli on its own. When I first smelled patchouli, I was really puzzled why people would like the smell of dirt or mud. It’s an acquired scent and a good base note.
      There are many types of Eucalyptus and I have no idea what kind we have here or if this is the same kind that is used for essential oils. The leaves smell faintly of eucalyptus e.o.

      Reply
  4. Kerry Lamb

    I love the elegant simplicity of your soaps, even when they are fancy 🙂
    What do you trim your soap with!
    Thanks 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Kerry. I use a simple vegetable peeler to trim the soaps. I tried using a wood beveler based on some blogs I read, but I find the peeler easier to use. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Jenny

    I love how those embeds look, Silvia! I’ve recently discovered my love for avocados, too. I should try it in soap someday. And I adore patchouli! It is so nice in blends, too, and it is wonderful mixed with orange. Great job on the soaps!

    Reply
  6. Cee

    Just lovely Silvia…both of them! Your soaps always have such a calming and creamy look to them. Like Kerry said; clean and simple, but elegant at the same time. I love that stamp! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Making My Own Dried Botanicals | SoapJam

  8. Pingback: Meeting Ecoviolet | SoapJam

  9. Pingback: Moringa Infusion with Charcoal Swirl | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

