Classic Soaps & Tapeless Plastic Packaging

As a soapmaker, part of the fun and challenge is coming up with creative designs and scent blends, but sometimes we just want something familiar and comforting, like these timeless favourites:

1. Lavender – soothing lavender with a small amount of litsea cubeba, rice powder and kaolin clay to help anchor the scent. The top is covered with soda ash, but I actually like the contrast.

Classic -Lavender

Lavender

2. Peppermint oatmeal – finally, a pure peppermint soap! At 3% of oil weight, it is perfectly minty.

Classic - Peppermint Oatmeal

Peppermint Oatmeal

3. Honey Orange – a delicious classic pairing of honey, orange 5-fold, and blood orange.

Classic - Orange Honey

Honey Orange

4. Fir and Eucalyptus with Activated Charcoal –  I have not walked through a forest of fir trees, but I imagine this is what it smells like. I adore the fresh, outdoorsy scent. It is a proprietary blend of 6 different essential oils.

Classic - Fir and Eucalyptus

Fir and Eucalyptus

Recently I’ve switched from using paper to plastic for wrapping my soaps. I still have not found the perfect packaging, but for now, the plastic pouch I’ve devised suits my needs.  I wanted packaging that would show the soap designs I’ve laboured on, protect the soap from dirt and dust, help retain the scent, allow customers to smell the soap, and that didn’t take too much time and effort.  This isn’t as efficient as tapeless paper wrapping, but it checks my other prerequisites, and it’s still tapeless!

Plastic Packaging 1

Plastic Packaging 2

It looks like plastic I just folded over and secured with a paper string, but I actually cut the plastic to make it into the shape of an envelope.  I cut and removed the sides of the top half of the plastic at a slight angle.  I then folded one of the flaps and cut it out, leaving behind one to close the “envelope”.  The design leaves a gap on the sides, which allows the soap to breathe and let people smell the soap.

Plastic Packaging 3

Plastic Packaging 4

35 thoughts on “Classic Soaps & Tapeless Plastic Packaging

  1. mijnzeep1

    The lavender soap is too delicate, Silvia! I can’t see that ash, but those lavender buds look great on top!
    I also use sometimes Plastic Packaging because I like to ‘see’ the soap. I like your idea of letting the soap’ breathe’.

    Reply
  2. Marika

    Again very, very beautiful soaps. Peppermint oatmeal is something that I have never heard of. Does the scent also contain oatmeal like OMH?

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Marika. I used peppermint essential oil as the sole scent. I think combining peppermint and OMH fragrance would be wonderful. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Cindy

    Love your soaps, as always…I just made a lavender oat milk soap and my soap top is covered with ash, as well, but I like it too! I’ve struggled forever with how to package my soaps. For now, I’m moderately happy with my system, but yours really is really awesome. It does all those things you mention and keeps your soap visible in all its glory!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I have not made lavender soap for some time so I forgot how ashy it can get. Packaging, packaging! It looks like a perpetual struggle for many of us. It is a fun process but can be a headache too. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Amy@10th Ave.

    They’re all lovely! I can count on two of my soaps developing ash, and lavender is one of them, but I don’t mind. Yours looks fine!

    As for packaging, I would rather do paperwork and accounting before tackling new packaging! I switched to plastic packaging (in my case, shrink wrap) for the same reasons as you. I take so much effort making my soaps pretty that I hate to cover it up with paper or a box! Well done.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I totally agree with you! Why cover up the soap after all that time spent making the designs? Deciding between plastic and paper packaging was a big dilemma for me. I will stick to the current packaging until I think of something better. Fun but exhausting! 🙂

      Reply
  5. Jenny

    Beautiful soaps, Silvia! I love the lavender buds on top of the Lavender soap. Peppermint is one of my all-time fave scents, and the honey and orange sounds lovely. The swirls in the Fir and Eucalyptus soap are gorgeous! Activated charcoal is such a nice ingredient. I like your new packaging, too! It’s great that customers can see and smell your soap, but the bars are still protected. The little bows are a pretty touch!

    Reply
  6. Infusions

    I love the tops of your soaps, Silvia! The lavender soap looks as if it has been decorated with delicate white powder. The idea of the plastic packages sounds great! I also sometimes use plastick wrapping to show the design of the soap. It works well with customers, I think.
    Maya

    Reply
  7. soapjam Post author

    Thank you, Maya. The plastic packaging grabs more attention than paper. It is not as elegant as paper, but right now I just want people to notice the soaps. 🙂

    Reply
  8. DivaSoap

    I’m glad you chose see-through packaging! It’s simple and the soap is exposed to all senses.
    I also use similar cello bags, but I tape the flap. Where do labels go?

    Reply
  9. soapsudsations

    Looks to me like you’re ready to open up your own shop Silvia. The lavender soap is beautiful and honey orange sounds so lovely!

    You are so patient! You cut each of the plastic wraps and tied it all up so evenly! You’re amazing. I love how it looks and it’s absolutely brilliant how you left it open slightly so that people can smell them.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Monica! That would be a dream come true to have a shop but I don’t know how much soap I’d have to sell to cover overhead. 😀

      Reply
  10. Gordana

    I really like this transparent packaging! It allows complete soap exposure and on the other hand protect soap from external environmental conditions. It seems that you were busy 🙂 All soap s you made are simply gorgeous – as always!

    Reply
  11. Roxana

    Oooh! I love your packaging and your soap, as always :). I go back and forth with my packaging too and right now using Vellum but it does not allow the soap to be displayed to the fullest. I like how you are able to very clearly see your soaps

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you Roxana. I am pleased with the way the cello bag displays the soap to the fullest, but like you, I go back and forth with my packaging. Still looking for that perfect packaging. 🙂

      Reply
  12. Pam

    Such lovely soap and the scents all sound fabulous especially the honeyed orange! This plastic packaging is so crisp and clean and I was wondering when it is handled does it leave streaks on the plastic envelope? I read a blog recently that made this claim.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Pam. I wrap a piece of paper around the soap to facilitate sliding it neatly into the plastic pouch. Sometimes I don’t use paper and it still comes out clean. Once the soap is inside the plastic, I haven’t noticed any streaking, even when handled. The only problem I see is when the soap is banged around or dropped, the edges may crumble a bit and it makes the presentation a little less perfect. 🙂

      Reply
  13. Shreya Sharan

    your soaps look so lovely and delicate…just a question – doesnt the plastic make the soaps sweat? I use brown paper boxes to pack my soaps and use sample bars for people to touch and smell.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Shreya! Thanks for dropping by and for your comment. So far I haven’t had any problems with the soaps sweating in the plastic – and I live in a very hot and humid place! I’ve experienced soaps sweating while curing especially when it rains, but not after it has cured for 3 weeks. I discount my water (36-37% lye concentration ), so that may explain it.

      Reply
  14. Pingback: Remakes | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

