Remakes

There was a time when I hardly repeated anything I made, but after more than a year of soaping, I find myself remaking soaps that I like and what’s popular. I am slowly narrowing down what I would like to form as my core products.  I am a scent addict and I have fragrances and essential oils that I have not even used, and I still continue to purchase new ones (it’s really hard to stop!).  Because of this serious addiction, naturally I will always be making something new – it’s part of the thrill of soap making!  And let’s not get started on the colours. I came in a bit late on that but am sure catching up!  Don’t you just love the jewel-coloured micas? 🙂

Here are some of my recent remakes vis-à-vis their old versions.

1.  Tea Tree and Spearmint with Activated Charcoal

Tea Tree Spearmint

Old

Tea Tree & Spearmint

New: the batter got thick so I was not able to do a fluid drop swirl like the old version

2. Fir and Eucalyptus with Activated Charcoal:

Fir and Eucalyptus

Old

Fir and Eucalyptus

New: ITP swirl; I used the wrong stamp for this!

3. Berries and Violets

Berries and Violets

Old

Berries and Violets

New: a different shade of green and violet

4. Bora Bora

Bora Bora (old)

Old

Bora Bora

New: very similar to the first version; the blue is a bit lighter.

5. Flamenco

Flamenco 2

Old

Flamenco

New: the batter was thinner than the old version so the coloured swirls went down farther.

18 thoughts on “Remakes

  1. DivaSoap

    So magically beautiful! Love them all, the old ones, the new ones, the future ones you will be making……
    Wrong stamp, ha…..see what happens when you’ve got them 5!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Aww, so sweet of you to say that, Maja. Thank you. 🙂
      I know, I know… I have to to be more alert, more so when the stamp addiction grows! 😀

      Reply
  2. mijnzeep1

    How beautiful are all of them! But the new ones look better, I don’t know why, maybe because they are new or because of the lovely taken pictures! Anyway, great work, Silvia!

    Reply
  3. Jenny

    They are all gorgeous, Silvia! It looks like you have some great core products in your line. And I totally know what you mean about purchasing more fragrances even though you have a bunch that you still haven’t used. Some scents are hard to resist buying. 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you Jenny! I think I need intervention for my fragrance addiction. 😀 I love the way you describe scents in detail and the way your nose is quite accurate. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Christine

    I think one of the best things about soap making is the variations between batches. I love that even though I can make the same soap over and over, each batch holds a surprise. Your soaps, old and new, are always amazing!

    Reply
  5. soapjam Post author

    Thank you for your kind words, Christine.
    The anticipation of how the soap is going to look is indeed one of the thrills we all share as soap makers. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Monica Glaboff (@SoapSudsations)

    Both old and new batches are beautiful in their own way, but I can see how Berries and Violets have definitely gotten more vibrant this time round. I love both versions of Flamenco, the original makes me think of a dance couple who have been together for enough time that their steps are totally in sync and therefore very sophisticated and clean. The new version is younger and more lively.

    Reply
  7. Infusions

    The new ones look even better than their predecessors! And I know what you mean about essential oils and fragrances. But as you say, creating new scents, colors and designs is part of the thrill of soap making 🙂

    Reply
  8. Sylvia

    Silvia:
    Great Soaps! I agree with others, I like the old and the new, but the new even more so. It’s nice to have a core group of soaps that you can make over & over. Some of mine I keep the same every time (maybe tweaking them a bit) and others I totally change up with each batch.
    Thank you so much for “coming out” with being a scent addict – it’s nice to know I’m not alone!! I have soooo many scents, I don’t think I will ever use them all! But it’s so great to try new things!! And have the comfort of the old!

    Reply
  9. soapjam Post author

    I have a feeling almost all soap makers are scent addicts. I mean, who wouldn’t be? 😀
    I have not decided yet how many soaps would form part of my core group. I like too many of them! What about you, how big (or small) is your core group? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

