Hanger Swirl

The Hanger Swirl is such a popular technique but can you believe that it’s just now, after more than a year of soaping, that I am doing it? I’ve been admiring hanger swirl soaps, but for the longest time, I could not find a wire hanger! I finally did a few months ago but it was children-sized and I could not take it apart to make it longer.

I still used it anywayΒ for this Black Amber and Lavender soap I made early in June:

Black Amber and Lavender

Black Amber and Lavender – my first hanger swirl.

Weeks later, I found an old, green plastic-coated wire hanger in my mom’s house – the kind that’s easy to dismantle and reshape into a tool for making soap designs. Β Not only that, I was able to buy recently a new set of large wire hangers. And with my new pliers, I was able to stretch it out to 18″ – the size of my molds. Β Just when I was thinking where are all the wire hangers in the world – they start appearing everywhere! πŸ˜€

Needless to say, I’ve been swirling away with my new toy. Here are some of my recent makes:

Lemon Rose 3

Lemon Rose 1

Lemon Rose 2

Lemon Rose

Lemon Verbena 1

Lemon Verbena 2

Lemon Verbena

I have been soaping quite a bit I don’t even remember if I used a hanger on this purple soap. Β I thought I did, but looking at it now, I think I did not.

Purple Orchid 1

Purple Orchid 2

Purple Orchid

For a top (hanger) swirl design, I find that using chopsticks does the job just as well. Β This soap was swirled with a chopstick:

Honeysuckle 1

Honeysuckle 2

Lavender Honeysuckle

The oddest thing happened with the above Lavender Honeysuckle soap. When I added the fragrance to the pink portion (coloured with pink lemonade mica), it instantly turned violet. When I unmolded the soap, it had returned to pink. Has anyone experienced this?

 

 

22 thoughts on “Hanger Swirl

  1. mijnzeep1

    Silvia, I can’t stop admiring your soaps and I can’t believe how many soaps you make!
    I love green so Lemon Verbena would be my favorite, but all these soaps look great! Congratulations!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Nat! I don’t know why but people seem to be drawn to the lemon verbena. Everything has been spoken for even as it sits curing. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Monica

    Beautiful hanger swirls Silvia! How do you manage to work and do so much soaping? You must be Super Woman! I love how each swirl is so different. Is your Lavendar honeysuckle soap magical, or a mood ring, is that why it changes colours? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I would love to have the powers of Superwoman and have magical soaps. πŸ˜€ Alas, I don’t, so I am struggling to cope up with work. Hahaha!

      Reply
  3. EvelynRoseSoaps

    Ha, ha, Sylvia…I just got my new hanger tool from Great Soap Shop yesterday in the mail! πŸ™‚ I’m trying it out today for the first time. https://www.etsy.com/shop/GreatSoapShop I’ve used various kitchen utensils before but decided to go ahead and by one of hers after seeing some lovely hanger-swirls soaps made using her tool. I hope mine will be as pretty as yours.

    Was your Pink Lemonade Mica from The Conservatorie? I have that one, and I would say it’s not completely soap stable. It turns bright purple when added to soap, and then after 24 hours, the soap that is exposed to air turns a medium pink, but the soap inside turns a very light almost flesh colored pink. I find if you add it at a 1:1 ratio with their Hot Pink Mica, you can get pretty close to the original color of the Pink Lemonade Mica, but it stays soap stable. It works fine for oil-mica swirled tops and looks good in lip balm too. I wish it was soap stable since it’s such a lovely color.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Now, that’s a real pro of a hanger you’ve got, Heather! Can’t wait to see your soaps!
      Yes, I used the Conservatorie’s Pink Lemonade mica. Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Jenny

    All of your soaps here are so gorgeous, Silvia! Those swirls are beautiful. How interesting that your pink mica went purple and then back to pink again. Micas can do strange things in CP soap sometimes. Your Lavender Honeysuckle looks great!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Jenny! I am starting to learn that some micas morph or disappear and some pigments bleed even if it says non-bleeding. It’s endless trial and error. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Gordana

    I am so impressed with quantity of soaps you make! You really have to share with us how you manage to be so productive πŸ™‚ On top of this all of them are so beautiful!

    Reply
  6. soapjam Post author

    I don’t make huge quantities like others, but I do make a lot of different designs and scents in small batches. πŸ™‚ On average, I make soap 3 times a week, usually 2 kinds/batches, but if I have the time and energy or if there is an order, I make 3 batches. I am just thankful that I really enjoy making soap because that’s what keeps me going even if I am already tired. πŸ™‚ Thank you, Gordana. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Maja

    Apparently, we’re all wondering the same: how one can make so many different soaps in a short time??? No matter how big your batches are, you still need as much preparation, as you’d need if you made huge batches! You’re really restless!
    I love every and each of your soaps. Hanger swirling is not something new to me, but looking at your soaps, it looks so different. I think I could recognize your soaps among a hundred of others. They all have your personal style imprinted and neat and clean appearance!
    And your stamping skill is marvelous, will I ever get there?

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      More than restless, I have been bitten by the soap bug big time! πŸ™‚
      I masterbatch my oils and lye so this really saves me time. And if you look at my soaps, I don’t do anything complicated.

      I had to mess up some soaps before I was able to make clean impressions. I feel that every stamp has its own personality that needs to be understood. The same applies for every soap formula. In due time, you and your stamp will become best friends but not before going through some rough patches. πŸ˜€

      Reply
  8. ecovioletsoap

    Love these hanger swirl designs! I love your use of color and the drop swirl designs. Is your soap batter very thin when you pour it? For some reason my drops sink to the bottom while pouring- a cool effect but not always what I am going for. And interesting about the morphing mica. I never had that happen but curious to watch out for.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      All the above soaps have floral fragrances so they were medium tracers. By the time I poured the upper colors, the bottom part was already quite thick – helping to suspend the top drops. I’ve tried pouring at very thin trace, and as with your experience, the drops sank to the bottom. Try pouring at heavy cream consistency. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Vicki

    Oh my, you’ve done it again Silvia. Beautiful designs – the Purple Orchid is particularly gorgeous πŸ˜€ I adore using micas – the sheer range of colours is wonderful, I have to sit on my hands to stop myself buying more and more!

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Hanger Swirl with Natural Colorants | SoapJam

  11. Pingback: Ginger Persimmon | SoapJam

  12. Pingback: Wispy Swirls | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

