Hanger Swirl with Natural Colorants

When I like something, I tend to keep on repeating it. That’s the way I listen to music – looping the same set of songs over and over again. I may not be sick of it yet, but others unfortunate enough to hear my music for the nth time are bound to complain! πŸ˜€ Β It’s no different with my soap making, but I hope no one is about to complain! Β Since acquiring a wire hanger, I’ve been swirling away with it whenever I could. In my previous post, I used micas, oxides and ultramarines for the swirls. Here, I used all natural colorants.

Moringa and Pink Clay

I used 1 Tbsp (8 grams) French Pink Clay mixed with 10 grams of water for 750 grams of carrier oils to get a nice pastel pink colour. In a previous moringa soap I made, I strained out the moringa powder and used only the infused oil. Β It yielded a lovely avocado green colour but it started to fade after 6-7 weeks. Here, I included the powder that has been saturated in oil for a month. Β I am sure it will fade eventually, but I think it will stay longer than the one with the infused oil only. The moringa powder provides mild exfoliation while the upper pink part provides a slippery contrast. It is scented with lavender, peppermint and eucalyptus E.O.s.

moringa pink clay 1

moringa pink clay 4

moringa pink clay 2

moringa pink clay 3

Moringa and Pink Clay

Double Eucalyptus

Remember this?

The net yield is very low. Most of it are too tough and fibrous  to be made into a powder with a coffee grinder.

Powdered eucalyptus leaves (left).

A while back, I made my own dried botanicalsΒ and infused them in oil. The eucalyptus powder made a green oil infusion, but when I soaped with it, it instantly turned tan, and upon unmolding, it had turned brown. There was no gradual discolouration like most natural green colorants.

double eucalyptus 4

My original plan was to do a charcoal pencil line Β The batter was pretty thin and as I was adding the top layer, I knew I was not going to achieve a straight line. Β I ditched my original plan and went for my hanger. I am glad of the change of plans because I love the way this came out! Β Aside from the oil infusion and eucalyptus powder, it is also scented with eucalyptus and grapefruit E.O.s.

double eucalyptus 2

double eucalyptus 3

double eucalyptus 1

Double Eucalyptus

20 thoughts on “Hanger Swirl with Natural Colorants

  1. DivaSoap

    This Eucalyptus soap is definitely one of the most beautiful naturally coloured soaps I’ve seen! The first one is so soft,baby looking soap, but the second one is exquisite! Bravo, Silvia!

    Reply
      1. DivaSoap

        Oh and I forgot to mention music (the beauty of the soaps cleared my mind of other thoughts,lol) – I also tend to repeat a zillion times songs that I like, so I perfectly understand you! However, I don’t have that kind of persistence when it comes to soap, unless a failure occurs!

        Reply
  2. Sylvia

    They are both so beautiful.
    Do you mind sharing your ratios of scents? Did you use 1:1 with the Eucalyptus & Grapefruit or Lav/Peppermint/Eucalyptus? Some scents are so much stronger than others, I’m never quite sure what mix/ration to use so that one does not overpower the other…I continually struggle with this.
    Thanks so much!!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Sylvia! I don’t follow any particular ratio, but if I am using citruses, I usually add the maximum of 3% of my oils because they tend to be light or even disappear. For essential oils, my general usage rate is a total of 5% of my oils. So the other 2% is for non-citrus E.O.s.

      For the Double Eucalyptus, I used nearly equal amounts of eucalyptus and grapefruit, with the eucalyptus just a tad bit more. Kaolin clay was used to anchor but even then, the grapefruit disappeared, leaving just the eucalyptus scent. For the Moringa Pink Clay soap, I used 2 parts lavender to 1 part peppermint and 1.67 parts eucalyptus. The clay and moringa powder helped to anchor the scents. Hope this was helpful. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. EvelynRoseSoaps

    They are both so beautiful, and the double eucalyptus soap makes me hungry for chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting…yum! πŸ™‚
    I’m the same way with songs. My soaping playlist is almost 20 hours long, and I like to listen to it every time I make soap.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Heather. I didn’t see chocolate cake but now I do! πŸ™‚

      20 hours is a long playlist! What kind of music do you soap to? πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. EvelynRoseSoaps

        My playlist is VERY eclectic. I’ve got Crosby, Stills, and Nash, The Beatles, The Allman Brothers (my parents were hippies), 60-70’s Stevie Wonder & Marvin Gay, David Bowie from the 70’s and early 80’s, Blondie, Tom Petty, Talking Heads, The Offspring, Eminem, Linkin Park, POD, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Rage Against the Machine, No Doubt and Gwen Stefani’s solo stuff, Foo Fighters, Garbage, a bunch of fun late 80’s rap like The Humpty Dance and Bust A Move. I don’t know if anyone but me would enjoy my weird playlist, but I love it. πŸ™‚

        Reply
  4. Pingback: Ginger Persimmon | SoapJam

  5. mijnzeep1

    Even the green turned brown, this soap is perfect, Silvia! One of the most beautiful soaps I have recently seen! Love it a lot!
    And I tend to listen to the same song a lot too that my family starts to like it too πŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

