Ginger Persimmon

Yes. It’s another hanger swirl – the third post in a row. If you missed the earlier ones, you can find them here and here, but IΒ promise the next post will be something different. πŸ™‚

I love the way the swirls came out on this one, and I just loooove the way it smells! Finally a pungent ginger that really pops without too much of the earthiness. It reminds me of ginger ale with just a bit of fruity and honey sweetness. Β I find the scent comforting and I think it would be a great blender, too. Β That said, the scents that I find fantastic are not necessarily the most popular, and conversely, scents that are popular are sometimes not my type. Β Where do you find yourself? Does your taste run similar to your customers’?

For the swirls, I used a scant 1/4 tsp burgundy oxide for 400 grams of soap, and 1 tsp (sample size) of peach sunset mica for the same amount of soap.

Ginger Persimmon 1

ginger persimmon 2

Ginger Persimmon 3

Ginger Persimmon 4

Hope your week is going great! πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “Ginger Persimmon

  1. DivaSoap

    As for I’m concerned, you can keeping posting ‘hangers’, you do it that we’ll that I can not get fed up. Actually, I’m in expectation to seeing some less successful trial (hihihi, hate me now), which is not happening! I just love what you do and always happily read your posts!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hahaha! Thankfully, I have no major disasters, but I have my share of unattractive soap. I usually end up making them into embeds or I “repair” them. πŸ™‚ I am glad to hear you like reading my posts. Thank you, Maja! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Jenny

    Ooh, that is very pretty, Silvia! I love how the swirls are all on one side of the bar. The scent sounds wonderful, too. I love anything with ginger!

    Reply
  3. Monica

    Maja cracks me up every time with her comments. πŸ˜€ I love your hanger swirls as well because they’re all so unique. Ginger persimmon sounds like something I could really sink my teeth into, which would not be a good thing.

    I think if I ever had a customer who loved patchouli I’d be in trouble because that is one of the scents I absolutely cannot stand. Your scents always sound fantastic, so I think you just need customers with more discerning taste, like you have.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you for your kind words, Monica. πŸ™‚ Patchouli is definitely an acquired taste. I also don’t like it on its own. To me, it smells like dirt or mud. But if it’s in a blend and it just stays in the background, it is actually ok. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Gordana

    Another gorgeous soap as we used to see from you! I am really impressed with the color of this soap and swirls are fantastic. You really inspired me Silvia to try this technique myself πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Veronica

    You don’t have to do anything different! Your hanger swirls are gorgeous. I particularly like the way this one is to the side. The only downside with your soaps is that I am intimadated, as I don’t think I could ever achieve anything as beautiful!!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Each soap is unique and beautiful in their own way. Even if I wanted to duplicate it, I cannot! Veronica, I am sure your soaps are beautiful! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. dojasoap

    Your soaps are really beautiful Silvia and the scent sounds always wonderful am new soap maker and i would like to ask you i use coconut oil in my recipe between 25% and 30% and super fating 5% and it really drying. did you thing i must super fating at 8%or much more or use less coconut oil? and water discount can influence de moisturizing of the soap? thanks in advance Silvia

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Dojasoap. Did you run your formula through a lye calculator? A 5% superfat is pretty standard, but you can certainly go higher depending on your formula (some use 100% coconut oil and compensate with a 15-20% superfat). You can also up your superfat if you have very dry skin or if you have a cold and dry climate. The beauty about making your own soap is that you can customize based on your needs.

      A 25-30% coconut oil content is within the range of a soap for normal skin. You can try adding goat’s milk, yogurt or coconut milk for added moisture/conditioning.

      Water discount has nothing to do with the moisturizing property of the soap, but it will affect the curing time.

      I hope this was helpful. All the best and happy soaping, πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. dojasoap

    Thank you Silvia ! Yes i did use a lye calculator. I will try to use higher super fating Percentage and coconut sound great i really appreciate your help and advice. Have a nice day.

    Reply
  8. Kerry lamb

    Beautiful soap πŸ™‚ I was wondering..what is the ginger you uise in the recipe? I am a ginger-lover too! Thank you! Kerry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

