Nutcracker

Before I begin, let me just announce that this is my 100th post! 🙂  To everyone following my blog, thank you so much for reading and leaving comments. I hope to keep things interesting and I look forward to the 200th blog post!

Can you believe it’s 34 more days until Christmas?  I still have not made my Christmas list.  Mentally, I have, but with the way I keep on misplacing my phone and keys, it does not amount to much.  This year though, I was early with my Christmas soaps in anticipation of my trip to Japan at the end of October – where I met up with Tokyo-based Maya, the creator of Infusion‘s ethereal soaps.

We spent the morning and lunch together, and talked non-stop! I am not exactly the talkative type, and I don’t think Maya is either, but it felt natural and easy to connect with her.  And you know what, our conversation was probably only 10% about soap!  We were supposed to go to Shinjuku Gyoen National Park, but because of a recent bout of dengue fever incidents, the park was temporarily closed.  We ended up chatting away in a Tully’s coffee shop until it was time to meet my husband and a friend for lunch at Maya’s favourite sushi boat restaurant.  Had the park been open, perhaps we would have remembered to whip out our cameras.  But with Japan only 4.5 hours from the Philippines, there will definitely be more visits to Japan and I am hoping Maya will find her way to our shores.  By then we shall have photos taken together! 🙂

Back to soap, the ones I made in September are mostly gone.  I have been busily making new soaps and remaking favourites since I came back from my trip. Last year I only had 2 holiday-themed soaps, but this year, I have been bitten by the Christmas soap bug. You may find here the first set that I made, and here’s another one….

Nutcracker

A warm and rich blend of juicy mandarin, frankincense, myrrh, sandalwood and spices. The colors are inspired by the beloved Christmastime ballet performance, The Nutcracker.

I made 4 batches and they all have different colour intensities and patterns.  For some batches, I poured the coloured portions on one side only, and for the others, I poured in the middle.  Which do you prefer?

Nutcracker 1

Nutcracker 2

Nutcracker 3

Nutcracker 4

Nutcracker 6

Nutcracker 5

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Nutcracker

  1. mijnzeep1

    OMG, Silvia! They all look gorgeous! I love how the last one turned out and I also like the intense colors(i may be starting using non natural colors seeing these soaps). What a blend of essential oils: I already love the combination of frankincense and myrrh! I wish I could smell this divine blend!
    I am glad that you met Maya and I bet you had so much to talk!
    Congratulations on your 100th post and I can’t wait your announce about your 1000th post!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Natalia! I can’t begin to tell you how much fun it is to make soap with man made colorants, especially micas. I started using them a bit later, and I got hooked! It opens up another level of creativity. I hope you give it a try!
      I really enjoyed meeting Maya. I have a feeling it’s just the first of many. 🙂

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you jjbaze. Luckily, most of the bars have nice patterns. Sometimes less than half of the batch are pretty while the rest are just meh. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Vicki

    Happy 100th blog post! Sounds like you had a wonderful time meeting Maya 🙂 I’m very envious of both your meeting and just the simple fact that you got to visit Japan, I’d love to go one day. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay as well?
    Your christmas soaps look lovely – I think I prefer the ones where you’ve poured to the side – there’s something really elegant about them.

    Reply
  3. soapjam Post author

    Thank you, Vicki! I had a great time with Maya. She sounds lovely in her blog, even lovelier in person. 🙂 My husband and I really enjoyed Japan. We are already planning to go back next year! The people are so nice, food is fantastic, creativity is in the air, and there’s just a lot to see and do. You should try to make Japan happen, Vicki. You would not be disappointed. Now’s the perfect time with the yen weak. Wouldn’t it be great if we can have a soapers’ meeting there? 🙂

    Reply
  4. Yvonne Bækgaard Pedersen

    Congrats with your 100th post 😊
    All of your sope is beautiful, both the ones to the side and in the middle, can’t choose, sorry… I’m tempted to try mica’s, the colors are really pretty – but for now I’m only adding some gold mica on the outside of the soap 💛

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Yvonne! I love the colour choices that micas offer. I am sure you will have such a great time using them in your soap. Best of all, you can add micas straight into your soap batter. 🙂

      Reply
  5. Monica

    Congratulations on hitting yet another milestone! Your visit with Maya sounds absolutely wonderful, you two must’ve been sisters separated at birth. 😉

    Your soaps are gorgeous as always. I almost prefer the colour on one side (which is bizarre for me since I”m normally a very symmetrical person), but there’s something about the way the colour cascades that I really like.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      It was really wonderful meeting her, and I can only imagine how nice it would be to meet you and all the people in our little soaping community. 🙂
      Thank you, Monica.

      Reply
  6. Maja

    Already 100th! Wow,that was fast. I’m close to 100th also,but my blog is kinda older, 🙂 . Congrats, Silvia, I wish you to keep this blogging passion as much as soaping one.
    All four batches look beautiful, but the side pour is something I could tell it’s yours, even without your stamp mark!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      It took me 1.5 years to reach 100 posts, but I think it will take me at least double that time to reach the next 100. Don’t we have the same blog anniversary , Maja? I will be there to cheer you on when you reach 100, and we have to do this together to reach 200. It gets lonely when you see your blog friends slowly disappearing.

      Reply
  7. Infusions

    Congratulations on your 100th post Silvia! I am very much looking forward to the next ones up the 200th and beyond!
    The Christmas soap bug, hehe! Great you have been bitten by it because we all can enjoy seeing your beatiful holiday soaps.
    The Philippines and Japan are so close that it makes it easier to travel. Cameras, pictures and more talk. What could be better? 🙂

    Reply
  8. ecovioletsoap

    Congrats on your 100th post! It’s also wonderful that you had a chance to meet Maya too. You both are inspirational soapers to me. The colors in the Nutcracker soap are gorgeous. I can imagine what it smells like. I am crazy busy with school and work but hopefully can carve out more time for blogging and soap design.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I admire you for braving through grad school, Janet. I hope you get to relax a bit this holiday season and find time to soap. I miss reading your posts.

      Reply
  9. Jenny

    Congratulations on your 100th post, Silvia! I’ve had my blog for almost three years now and I’m up to only 63 posts. Sounds like you and Maya had a great time. I’m glad that you two got to meet. The Nutcracker soap is gorgeous! I love both the middle and side pours. It’s hard to choose, but I think I prefer the swirls poured to the side, although both are fantastic!

    Reply
  10. soapjam Post author

    Thank you, Jenny! Even though you’re only up to 63 posts, what’s important is that you have been very consistent, doing one to two posts every month. I don’t think I will be having as many posts as I did last year, but I hope to be as consistent as you. 🙂

    Reply
  11. Pingback: More Christmas Soaps | SoapJam

  12. EvelynRoseSoaps

    Congrats on your 100th post! Your blog is always so much fun to read (with pretty pics to boot), and your dedication to consistency is an inspiration. 🙂 I’m goal for 2015 is to post at least once a month.
    Couldn’t pick a favorite Nutcracker soap since they were also so beautiful, and I really liked all of them!

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Japanese Indigo Soap | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

