Soap Rocks

I used to collect and save all the shavings and trimmings from bevelling my soaps with the intent of rebatching them or making them into confetti soaps.  More often than not, I lack the desire, or maybe it’s laziness, to repurpose them.  Knowing this about myself, I immediately make them into soap rocks – when they’re still fresh and soft, and easy to squeeze/compact and shape.  They’re all for personal use, and my mom, most especially, loves them. She keeps on emphasising that even when dropped, they don’t break.

The combination of different soaps is sometimes the basis of a new scent. If not for these soap rocks, I would have never thought to combine coffee, lavender, peppermint, sandalwood and vanilla.  Sounds weird, but smells divine!

Soap Rocks 1.1

Soap Rocks 2.2

Soap Rocks 3.3

Happy Sunday! 🙂

 

18 thoughts on “Soap Rocks

  1. Marika

    They are so pretty 🙂 I would also love them. I am so lazy that I don´t trim my soaps becuse they are just for me and my family.

    Reply
  2. Madame Propre

    Hi Sylvia! Thank you for sharing your tricks! So true that it is easy to get lazy about working onto those leftovers… I have a large drawers of small bits, each in a small bag, and I throw them away periodically, when they are too dry… Once in a while, I rebatch them (but I am not very good at that-I shall try tour method with the plastic bag). My rock soaps never get as smooth and shiny as those I see on Pinterest, so it is always a disappointment…

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Madame Propre! Once in a while I collect the shavings deluding myself I will do something with it. Haha! But really, making them into soap stones immediately after beveling is minimal work and eliminates waste. Do you massage and squeeze the shavings? I think it helps to make it shiny. I also smoothen it out using my fingers. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Maja

    Same here, I usually lose passion to use them again. Until I do use them, either as decoration in a new soap batch, or for scrub cubes. Yours look really pretty, you could even develop a new selling item- stone soap!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      For now it’s all for personal use and to give away. But who knows! I might have to intentionally shred soap to make them into rocks, but that would be too much work for me! 😀

      Reply
  4. Yvonne Bækgaard Pedersen

    It’s always a good feeling to use all smal bits and ends and also to transform them into new soaps. Your soapstones are beautiful 😊
    I make felted soap of my leftovers and they are really nice and supersoft in use, and it’s fun to make them.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      True, it’s nice to have nothing go to waste.:D

      Felting scrap soaps is such a clever idea! I have seen photos of lovely felted soaps but it’s something I have never tried.

      Reply
  5. Jenny

    Your photos are so beautiful, Silvia! I love the natural lighting. The soap rocks look great, too. I have a bag of scraps that I intend to make into confetti soap … someday.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Glad you like the photos, Jenny. I intend to learn more about photography this year.

      Looking forward to how you’d make your confetti soap. I’ve seen many fun and colorful ones. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Vicki

    I do this too – such an easy way to use up those bevelling shavings 🙂 I’ve also ended up with some strange fragrance blends, and not always ones I’d choose to repeat 🙂 but they’re only for our own use so it doesn’t really matter ha ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

