Soap Photography

Compared to my soaping activities the last quarter, I have been slow since the start of the New Year.  This has given me time to finally learn the fundamentals of photography. I have been interested in photography for the longest time but my technical know-how has always been shaky.  I just wanted to compose and shoot. I mean, that’s the fun part, right? 🙂

Fortunately, and conveniently, hubby is intensely creative and a photography buff who really knows his stuff.  He has been casually giving me pointers but I can be a scatter brain when I don’t make an effort to focus.  When I annoyingly repeat the same question, that’s when he tells me to do my homework and read up.  But this time I am intent on learning.  I have been inspired by the gorgeous works of Clara Lindberg of Auntie Clara’s, and Zahida Map of Handmade in Florida.

Jolie

Jolie

Honey Yogurt

Honey Yogurt

tomato

Tomato

Bamboo Yuzu 1

Bamboo Yuzu

 

 

24 thoughts on “Soap Photography

  1. Natalia

    Love these pictures, Silvia! I believe that everyone who ever got to see Clara or Zahida’ s work and photography gets inspired by them!
    Love especially the 1st photo, such a delicate soap and such a lovely photo!

    Reply
    1. Anonymous

      Your picture set up looks very professionel.
      I’m inspired by Clara and Zahida too. Love their soaps and their photos!
      Hubby bought me an expensive Canon Eos . But I have to learn a lot. Even with a good camera it’s not so easy to take good pics. In April I take a few lessons to to learn all the functions if my cam 😀
      Greetingd Sabine

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I am getting there, but I still get confused with the different lenses and what they do. I only use one lens, so I don’t have to decide what to use, but I just want to understand the hardware as well. Thank you, Jenny. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Laur

    Aaah Sylvia ,
    You inspire me to learn one thing at a time. I get anxious w all of these beautiful soapings and media excellence … and then I go back to your 1st blog and feel I can move forward, with patience. Thank you for being such a hard working mentor ! See what you have done ? My smallest children love your tries and sucesses !
    And yes , we love the mystery and magic of clara and zahida too. Your style and energy jump off the page to us, though. I count on you for Energy !! .
    Laurie

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you for your heartfelt comment, Laurie! It means a lot to me and you have just given me renewed energy to blog. 😀 I started this blog as a way to journal a new hobby. It goes to show that anyone can make soap, with patience and persistence.

      It’s funny that you mention getting anxious seeing perfect looking soaps and pictures, because I get anxious reading about people and their perfectly organized lives! It is inspiring for me to read about normal people who can make their lives extraordinary, yet it is still real. I am truly touched and humbled if I can be that for you with soaping. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Maja

    I can say I also loved your photos before you took lessons from the hubby,lol!
    Preparation and scenary for shooting can be very time consuming, but I must admit that that shows on the picture making it more descriptive and attractive.
    Good work, Silvia!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Aww, thank you so much Maja! True, coming up with the concept and setting up and making all the adjustments take up a lot of time. The other day I wanted to take photos but didn’t push through because I could not come up with a nice concept for the composition. I like that having the right props tells a story but I don’t think I can do it all the time. Some of the shots will have to be just plain and simple if I am to finish anything. LOL! 😀

      Reply
  4. Gordana

    I really liked all your photography you taken so far! They really represented your work in grate way. This new style is also good, I can imagine that it will be inspiration for you to try many different photography set up in the future

    Reply
  5. soapjam Post author

    Thank you, Gordana! I am looking forward to experimenting with different styles and learning to understand the different features/functions of the camera. 🙂

    Reply
  6. Madame Propre

    Sylvia those photos are absolutely gorgeous ! I love the bamboo yuzu, it must smell great too! You are so patient to prepare such beautifulsettings! But it does pay. They look like professional pictures. I cannot wait to see more as your articles will be released! Thank you!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Madame Propre! The Bamboo Yuzu is a combination of 2 sample-sized fragrances, and I really like its clean, green and fresh scent. 🙂

      Reply
  7. soapjam Post author

    Thank you, Monica! A lot of people go to my husband to ask about cameras and photography. I am a forgetful student who has not taken down notes . 😀

    Reply
    1. Monica

      Or are you doing a guy thing, not doing it as well in the hopes that your husband will help you take the pictures, leaving you time to make your soap. ;D

      Reply
      1. soapjam Post author

        Hahaha! You are funny, Monica. I do that with gadgets and other tech stuff because I don’t really care for them but they are a necessity. However I am really interested to learn photography so I am trying to do my best. 🙂

        Reply

Leave a Reply

