Meeting Ecoviolet

One of the best things about blogging is getting to meet people one would normally not have the chance to meet in this life.  Last October, I had the wonderful opportunity to meet Maya of Infusions in Tokyo (cross fingers, we may meet again this April!)  And just last Sunday, I met Janet of Ecoviolet Soap and her husband in Manila.

Janet already wrote me months ago about her plans for a first-time visit to the Philippines and Thailand – the birthplaces of her mother and father, respectively. When she had finally firmed up her schedule, I wasn’t sure if I could fly to Manila on those dates. But our meeting was meant to be;  just a few days beforehand, my husband said we were going to Manila to see an art fair and to visit his parents.  I was so excited when I realised the dates coincided with Janet’s visit!  Despite her tight schedule, we managed to meet, albeit it was just for two short hours – so not enough, as you can imagine!  Janet is a brilliant chemical engineer who is currently taking up her master’s in statistics.  With her background, making soap is almost second nature to her. I love learning about the scientific part of soap making, and talking with Janet felt like I was meeting Kevin M. Dunn himself!

We were so caught up chatting, we almost forgot to have our picture taken.  But we were able to have this shot at the hotel lobby, just before saying good-bye. Parting ways took a while since there was just so much to talk about! Hopefully we will have more time next time around. 🙂

Ecoviolet

Janet gifted me with an Orange Patchouli soap. Can I just say how incredible it smells?  I made a Blood Orange & Patchouli soap sometime ago, but I don’t remember it smelling as deep and aromatic as Janet’s.  Guess what I’m using tonight?  😉

Ecoviolet soap

I am so glad we met, Janet.  I hope you are having a great time in Bangkok. Safe travels! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Meeting Ecoviolet

  1. Rainie

    Sounds really fun! I am new to soaping but have made some progress. Found your blog through an accidental search on Google. It’s been really nice reading your posts. I’m wondering if one day you’d want to visit Shanghai area. I’d love to meet you as well! ;))))

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Rainie! Thank you for your comment. Isn’t soaping so much fun?! Do you have a blog? It’s a great way to journal your progress and to meet other soapers. Shanghai? Who knows! Happy soaping! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Jenny

    How cool! I got to meet an online soaping buddy in person a couple of years ago after we realized that we lived about 100 miles away from each other. She was making a trip to my town, so we met up and had a great time talking soap, sniffing fragrance oils, and chatting about ourselves. Sounds like you and Janet had a lot of fun!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      How nice you also got to meet an online soaping friend, Jenny! Now that you have moved to the west coast, you might get to meet more! Yes, it was really great meeting Janet. Wish we had more time! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Infusions

    I am happy you could meet Janet in person, Silvia! I wish I had a chance to meet her, too, and hopefully it will happen one day. I am very much looking forward to your next visit to Tokyo!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I am sure you will enjoy Janet’s company. Hopefully you get to meet her someday. I am looking forward to catching up with you again, Maya! I am also excited to show you the soaps I made with some of the ingredients you gave me. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Maja

    Yes,it’s always exciting to meet in person someone you have known long time. I’m sure the whole day wouldn’t be enough to touch every subject you find in common. But, that’s life and you’re both lucky to have had this opportunity.
    Yes, you’re both look great!

    Reply
  5. ecovioletsoap

    Aww Silvia- you are so sweet! I am very happy that you had a chance to travel to Manila and we could meet in-person. Thank you so much for your beautiful soaps- they look even better than the photos and I can’t stop sniffing them. I want to blog about them soon. I just arrived home and I am bit jet lagged (it’s 3am now). Hopefully we can meet-up some day for a longer period of time (I would like to go back to the Philippines!)

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Janet! You must be exhausted from your trip. I am happy to hear you like the soaps. I hope you like using them too. I am halfway through your orange patchouli and I always like to inhale its wonderful scent while in the shower. I like the way it feels creamy and does not get mushy. Would be really great to meet up again and I hope you get to spend more time in the Philippines. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Katy

    You’re both so beautiful! How fun to meet up with a fellow soaper! And from so far away!! Thanks for sharing, Silvia! I love hearing about your experiences. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

