My M.I.L.’s New Favorite

Since I’ve known my my mother-in-law (nearly 8 years), her all-time favorite scent has always been lavender.  But ever since I gave her Honeysuckle soap last year, she has declared it as her new favorite.  Poor lavender.  She hasn’t given it a second glance since she fell in love with the heady and sexy honeysuckle.

Honeysuckle 2

I have never smelled the real flower, so I don’t know if what I have is the real deal.  I bought several honeysuckle fragrances from various suppliers, and they all smell different.  I made a blend of the ones that I like and added a little bit of other floral elements to bring everything together.

Honeysuckle 3

I think this is my 4th time to make Honeysuckle, and so far this is the best looking.  I love the bright colors and the soap batter was behaved enough for me to make hanger swirls.  Typical of most florals, this usually becomes thick quite fast, and in the past, the yellowish fragrance oil had a tendency to turn pink into peach.

Honeysuckle 1

I thought I was not into florals, but it is becoming apparent that I am wrong.  To my surprise, many of my top picks are florals, including honeysuckle.  What’s your favourite floral? 🙂


 

21 thoughts on “My M.I.L.’s New Favorite

    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you Susan. I have not tried carnation and I don’t know what it smells like. Something to look for next time I shop for FOs. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Vicki

    These are lovely Silivia! Lavender is one of my best sellers, but I prefer a heady rose fragrance. Oh, and honeysuckle and jasmine too!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you Vicki! I didn’t like rose before, but now I like it especially in a blend. I still have to find a good jasmine fragrance. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Joan

    Beautiful soaps!! I also love honeysuckle & have found a wonderful fragrance oil that barely speeds trace. Lavender is also a good seller. Magnolia also sells well for me in the Spring. I found a hyacinth fragrance oil this past year that keeps it’s scent for a long time. For most of the floral fragrances, I have found that if you warm them slightly before blending, they act better…blending smoother without ricing.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I have not tried hyacinth but I am curious about it. Thank you for the tip on warming the oils before blending. I will try it next time. 🙂

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Reese! Since i don’t do videos, I’d like to recommend the Youtube videos of Zahida Map of Handmade in Florida. She is the queen of hanger butterfly swirls. Her soaps are so gorgeous. 🙂

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Janet! I pour the colors on one side of the soap and hanger swirl it. The smell is very floral. My husband says it reminds he a bit of sampaguita. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Infusions

    The soap is so beautiful! The colors and swirls do look soft and sweet, reminiscent of the smell of honeysuckle. I have never tried any honeysuckle fragrance but if yours are the same or at least close to the real thing, I can easily understand your mother-in-law’s preference.

    Reply
  4. Monica

    I can see why honeysuckle would be your m-i-l’s new favourite, it’s such a sweet, delicious scent. Love the colours you chose, did you do that deliberately to capture the colours of honeysuckle as well?

    I have yet to find a floral that I’m absolutely in love with, but maybe that’s because I haven’t tried honeysuckle yet.

    Your m-i-l is very lucky to have such a wonderful d-i-l who’d make her all these gorgeous soaps.

    Reply
  5. igagnon76

    hello! your soaps are gorgeous! i love how you get the pattern in the top corner only. how did you do that? do you have video tutorials? I haven’t been making soap for very long and the only floral i’ve made so far is lavender. so far my favorite mix is Rosemary Lavender Peppermint.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you for your comment, Isabelle. Your favorite mix sounds wonderful! I have to try it myself! As for making a top corner pattern, I pour the different colors alternately on on side, following the length of the mold. I then use a hanger to make the swirls. Sorry I don’t make video tutorials, but may I recommend Handmade in Florida’s tutorials? I learned a lot from watching Zahida’s videos! 😊

      Reply

Leave a Reply

