Dandelion Zebra: My Second Soap Challenge

Before I left for Taipei last week, I made 2 attempts at the Dandelion Zebra Swirl.

For my first attempt, I really like the color combination, but the soap thickened up a bit that’s why I didn’t get smooth clean zebra stripes. For the scent, I mixed Black Raspberry & Vanilla and Tangerine F.O.s – a really yummy combination!

Dandelion Attempt 1: Black Currant and Tangerine

Dandelion Zebra Attempt 1: Black Currant and Tangerine

My second attempt does not even look like a Dandelion Zebra swirl! I used peppermint e.o. and a new fragrance called Fall Festival – a sweet and spicy scent – and it really accelerated trace.  The soap batter barely slid down the board, more like a glop-glop, and when I was about to remove the board, it had already stuck to the soap batter. I had to yank it out and give the soap mold a good dose of hard banging. I am actually surprised that it does not have a lot of holes.

Dandelion Zebra Attempt 2: Peppermint Sugar and Spice

Dandelion Zebra Attempt 2: Peppermint Sugar and Spice

When I got back from my trip the other day, I quickly made another attempt. I used [Capri Olivo] – correction: the name of the fragrance is OMG Olive – another new f.o. (I know I should not use new f.o.s for multi-colored soaps but I kinda like the thrill 🙂 ).  It is a fresh, unisex, and spa-like fragrance. At a usage rate of 4% of my oils, the scent almost completely disappeared, but being the optimist, I am hoping it will come back! It is a very well-behaved f.o., allowing the soap to slide down with ease.

Dandelion 1 Dandelion 2

I actually prefer the colors of my first attempt, but my third attempt shows the Dandelion Zebra Swirl technique better, so it is what I will be submitting for the contest.  What do you think?

28 thoughts on “Dandelion Zebra: My Second Soap Challenge

  1. Gordana

    I can’t make up my mind which of those soaps I like the most because all of them are so beautiful! I would never guess that you experienced issues with trace acceleration because the soaps are perfectly smooth and tops are gorgeous!

    Reply
  2. DivaSoap

    Ooh Silvia, now you have 6 of dandelion’s! Zebra collection! After so many dandelion soap, you can teach the technique, 🙂
    They all look great and I think you chose excellent one to enter with. All colour combos are beautiful, but I guess not many contestants will opt for this last one you did! So, go ahead, it’s perfect!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Dear Maja, it is actually just 3. The first 2 attempts are the same as the ones in my older post “Dandelion Zebra or Not?”, just different photos.
      I would love to do tutorials, but would you believe, I’ve never made a video in my life! I can take step by step photos but i really don’t have much time before the soap sets up since i discount my water. One day, I will tackle this! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Amy Warden

    Difficult choice! I really like them both! Even the second attempt turned out well, even if it doesn’t resemble a Dandelion swirl. 🙂 I’m hoping your scent comes back too!!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Amy! Thank you for your comment and for organizing The Soap Challenge Club. It’s a great way to learn new techniques. I had so much fun with this. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Amy@10th Ave.

      I think they’re ALL gorgeous! I’m especially impressed by the peppermint blend one–I never would have guessed that you had a bit of trouble with it. Great save! But the color combo of the last one is my favorite. Thanks for sharing all three interpretations.

      Reply
  4. Jenny

    I love your latest Dandelion Zebra swirl, Silvia! The color combination is gorgeous. I hope the scent comes back for you, too. It sounds like a nice fragrance!

    Reply
  5. Cee

    They’re all so gorgeous Silvia! I really wanted to try this challenge, but the time just got away on me 😦 I love all of yours, it would be so hard to choose which one to enter!

    Reply
  6. soapjam Post author

    Ruth- thank you for your comment! We both like the same color combo. 🙂
    Cee- good to “see” you! Time just flies, doesn’t it? I can’t believe the year is coming to an end!

    Reply
  7. Cindy

    Seriously beautiful soaps! I’m not so much addicted as obsessed with the modified mantra technique. I’ve yet to have one turn out the way I like! I’ll keep trying though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

