Christmas Soaps and Packaging

This year just went by in a blur! It’s 20 days to Christmas and I still have soaps curing. I soaped practically everyday from end of September to October, hoping I’d be done with Christmas packing before December.  I got a bit delayed because I needed to make more than I anticipated, and I also didn’t soap for nearly 2 weeks in November.  I should be able to complete though everybody’s orders and my personal gift requirements before Christmas.

I have not officially started selling soap, but hopefully I can do so next year. Right now it’s just my family and friends who are supporting my soapy passion. I am most grateful to them for giving me the opportunity to soap to my heart’s content and to improve my skills.

As early as August, my mother-in-law and sister-in-law placed their order for a combined  total of 250 3-pack soaps, or 750 bars (they just have that many people to give to!)  I was able to complete their orders by mid-November, all boxed-up and sent to Manila in batches.  My husband and a good friend were my soap mules (thank you!!!) since they fly between Manila and Cebu regularly.

Christmas Packaging - Plaid Ribbon

Each pack contains one scrubby, one plain yogurt, and one with design. The soap is wrapped with kraft paper and lined with waxy sandwich paper.

Packaging 2

“Wake Me Up” with coffee and oatmeal

I’ve always disliked using tape in my packaging. Thanks to my sister who found in her drawer a forgotten Burt’s Bees soap from ages ago, I now know how to wrap soaps in the same neat way, sans tape!  The best part is you can open the package to see the soap inside and fold it back to its original state.

Burt's Bees 1 Burt's Bees 2

Packaging 1

Here are variations for single, trio and quartet Christmas soap packaging.   Packaging for a 2-bar set is the same as for the trio.

Christmas Packaging -individual

Christmas Packaging - Plastic w twine

Christmas Packaging-Pack of 3

The wife of my brother has a small business manufacturing light-weight wooden containers/packaging for export to Japan. I asked her to make me trays in the style of crates for my soaps.  The smaller tray is stained brown, hence the darker color, while the 4-bar tray is the natural color of the wood.  I am reserving these for my personal gifts to family and friends. 🙂

Christmas Packaging - Tray of 3

Christmas Packaging-Tray of 4

I’ve made so many different kinds of soaps the past 2 months, I just haven’t had the time to blog about them.  I made 2 Christmas-themed soaps:

1. Peppermint Vanilla Noel – I already made a batch of this last October and loved it so much (click here to see the old version).  I made several more batches but changed the look to a drop swirl design, which I like a lot better.  I left the lower vanilla portion uncolored, leaving the vanillin content to naturally turn the soap tan. The upper red, green and white were scented with peppermint e.o.

Christmas Soap-Peppermint Vanilla

Christmas Soap - soap top

2. Winter Wonderland – This has a strong, deep, and intoxicating scent – woodsy, tart, spicy, and fruity – a little bit masculine but can also appeal to women. I really like the way this smells! I used burgundy and green chrome oxides and intentionally used less color so that it looks muted.

Christmas Soap - Winter Wonderland 2 Christmas Soap - Soap top wonderland

12/8/13  Due to requests, click here for a tutorial on how to wrap soap without tape.

29 thoughts on “Christmas Soaps and Packaging

  1. mijnzeep1

    Wow, Silvia, congratulations on your packagings, love them: simple and so elegant! My favourites!
    Your Peppermint Vanilla Noel soap is gorgeous! I made yesterday a drop swirl soap too, but my red is not as beautiful as yours 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Natalia! I used brick red oxide to get that colour. It’s not entirely natural, and knowing you, you make only all-natural soaps, which is all the more challenging to get the colours you want. Can’t wait to see what you made. I’m sure it’s beautiful! 🙂

      Reply
  2. DivaSoap

    Ooh, I love, love, love everything!
    I’m sure I won’t be lonely in request for this tapeless wrapping! Please, do show us, it looks fabulous! And your wooden tray is so gorgeous! All look so neat and professional, congrats, your effort’s been very worthwhile!
    Soaps look fantastic, all of them!
    Ooh,I mustn’t forget labels! All and everything is so perfect!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Hi Maja! Of course, I’d be more than happy to do a tutorial on the tapeless wrapping. It took a lot of brainstorming with my husband and friends, trial & error, and obsessiveness (LOL!) before finally coming up with a design that reflected me and that was also cost-effective. Thank you, I’m so happy you like the packaging. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Vicki

    Oh my word I adore you packaging!! I especially love the tapeless wrapping – would it be cheeky to ask for a tutorial? I am, by the way, astounded at your in-laws’ request for 750 soaps – how lovely! No wonder you’ve been busy haha!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Vicki! My husband’s mother and sister have a ton of friends and they belong to different circles and groups. Can you believe the soaps are just a portion of their gift list? They’re so wonderfully supportive and I am so thankful for that. Keep posted for the tapeless wrapping – coming soon! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Jenny

    Wow, your packaging is so gorgeous, Silvia! So pretty and professional. Sounds like you’ve been busy filling orders for family and friends – 750 bars is a lot! Your Peppermint Vanilla noel and Winter Wonderland soaps are beautiful, too!

    Reply
  5. Gordana

    You did a hard but grate work! Your packaging is so simple but delicate, perfectly in line with the soap you make. Congratulations! I really whish you grate forthcoming selling season, you really deserve it!

    Reply
  6. Monica Glaboff (@SoapSudsations)

    Wow, that’s all so gorgeous! I love your packaging, it looks so professional and amazing. Your Christmas soap looks fabulous and must smell amazing. 750 soaps?!?! How did you find the time to make all that? And the wooden boxes, absolutely exquisite.

    When you start being a huge success selling your soaps, can we say, we knew her when… 😉

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Monica! You always manage to make me laugh. 🙂
      I started preparing as early as September. I did soap marathons on Sundays,and made soap almost every night. Most of all, having someone help me clean up made it a lot easier and faster. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Nutcracker | SoapJam

Leave a comment