Valentine Soaps & Packaging

Have I mentioned that I have such an awesome mother-in-law?  Because she is such a great human being, people are naturally drawn to her, and my friends wish she was their mom, even though they love their own mothers.  She is the kind of person who celebrates every possible occasion with a gift.  Last month, she already ordered ahead for Valentine’s her favorite chrysanthemum-shaped soap, and a black and white one that’s scented with grapefruit and neroli.

I still don’t have the proper packaging for plastic-wrapped soaps, so I had to make-do with what I could find. I wanted the flower-shaped soaps to rest on paper doily, but I couldn’t find small ones. I also didn’t want to use wrapping paper because it’s too thin, and I couldn’t find thick paper with a nice print.  I did find, though, this lovely baking cup:

Olive Breeze Packaging 1

I had to stretch out the cups to flatten them, and using a mason jar ring as a guide, I cut-out circles with a paper cutter.  When my friend saw my labor-intensive process, he said that there is a cutter specifically for round shapes.  I had no idea!  Anyway, i just had to cut 30 pieces, but I did look for that cutter the following day.  Sadly, it’s not available in our local stores.

I will have to search where I can find 3.5″ doilies or printed paper boards that I can use as a base for soaps like the ones below.  Please let me know if you have a source to share! 🙂 The cut-outs are not perfectly round but I’m quite happy with the way these turned out.

Olive Breeze 1
Olive Breeze Packaging

The black and white soaps were much simpler to package.  I just used red gross-grain ribbon. I think it would have been cuter if I had a fancier-shaped hang tag for Valentine’s.  I totally missed the opportunity to buy the Silhouette Cameo at a discount last December. It would be really nice to have it, but, well, I can live without it.  🙂
Valentine's Packaging

M.I.L. Neroli

23 thoughts on “Valentine Soaps & Packaging

    1. soapjam Post author

      Thanks so much, Gordana! If I am looking for inspiration, I go to the baking supplies store, bookstore, or anywhere I think I might find something. It would be great if we had a crafts store, though.

      Reply
  1. DivaSoap

    Omg, I just adore your ideas! Everything’s perfect. Yes, there is such a cutter,it’s called paper puncher, (I have turned around the planet to find them) and there is a place to get it from. I also couldn’t find it locally (i have found only some, but they are not big enough for me), so I tried ‘planetary’. Try at aliexpress.com (not sure whether it’s the right address, but you will find it), there is like ton of it, the question is do they have your dimensions? I haven’t ordered any yet, still looking for the bigger ones,so if you get lucky with searching, hand it over,please!
    The black & white soap is g.o.r.g.e.o.u.s!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Maja! Darlene suggested Amazon for the paper doilies. Amazon has everything including the circle cutter. They have the circle puncher too but the biggest I saw cuts a diameter of 2″ only. Just search for “circle cutter” in Amazon and it will show you many options. The Martha Stewart one looks good, but i am also looking at the one that works like a compass. Thanks for pointing me to aliexpress.com. Another place to shop! 😉

      Reply
  2. Jenny

    Beautiful soaps, and beautiful packaging! It looks like a lot of work went into both. The baking cups add a really pretty touch. Your mother-in-law will love both soaps, and so will her gift recipients!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, Jenny! Whenever I go shopping, I am always on the lookout for things I might be able to use for soapmaking or packaging. I do hope my mother-in-law and her gift recipients will love the soaps! 🙂

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you so much, Andee! She just got them today and she’s so excited to give them to her friends. I hope her friends will like the soaps. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Monica

    Beautiful soaps Silvia and I love your packaging idea! You are certainly patient to be able to cut out even 30 of those. Your packaging looks absolutely professional, it’s hard to believe you do it all yourself.

    Your mother-in-law sounds wonderful, does she need a new friend? I’d love to be the recipient of your wonderful soap. 😉

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I’m happy you think the packaging looks professional, Monica. That means a lot to me. But if you look closely, the circle is a bit crooked and there are some creases. I had to use a lot of might to hold down the ring and cut right next to it. That thing just wanted to move all the time! I did have someone help me stretch out the baking cups so I could focus on the cutting.
      My M.L. would love to have you as a friend. But being my friend is enough to give you a chance to try out my soap. 😉 I’ve got some plans brewing! 🙂

      Reply
      1. Monica

        No no my dear, you’re supposed to say of course the packaging is professional looking, I’m a perfectionist. ;; 😉

        You have a plan, I can’t wait to hear what it is! I’d still love to meet your mom-in-law and have her tell me what an awesome daughter-in-law she has.

        Reply
  4. Sue

    I like the packaging, and think the hang tags are lovely. FYI, I got my Cameo from Overstock with a great deal, and I think there is a 40% off sale in the Silhouette store right now. Might be worth checking out 🙂

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you for the tip, Sue! Heading to the Silhouette sight after this.
      As a Cameo user, are you satisfied with it? I worry about the parts or the blade getting dull, and having to invest a lot of time to learn how to operate it! :0

      Reply
  5. Cee

    I am in love with that chrysanthemum soap, what a wonderful gift that will make! Your mother-in-law sounds like a doll, it’s so nice that you cherish and appreciate each other. I love your gift set and the black and white soap too, you have a real flair for packaging!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

