Wispy Swirls

I have been doing a lot of hanger swirls so I felt it was time to try something a bit different.  My goal was to make wispy swirls and my plan could only be executed if the soap stayed fluid.  I honestly don’t have a definite approach for this technique. It’s all trial and error.  I have tried pouring colors alternately straight into the mold, sometimes tilting it ala dandelion zebra swirl; I have also tried breaking the flow of the soap batter with a spatula so that it forms a thinner line.  To make the swirls, I do it with a chopstick in 2-steps: the first swirl is done after half the batter has been poured, and the second swirl after all the batter has been poured.

Several times I had to abandon my plans altogether and do whatever I could to save the soap from rejection.  That usually means a lot of banging.  My neighbours are probably wondering what all that noise is especially late at night! 😀

I definitely need more practice and I think breaking the flow of the soap batter with a spatula produces better results. The problem is, I have a tendency to forget about the spatula! Except for Gingered Bergamot, I have been quite daring and I used fragrances that I have never tried before.

These are the ones that came out ok:

Gingered Bergamot

Gingered Bergamot

Harlow

Harlow

Lilac

Lilac

Cucumber Melon

Cucumber Melon

White Tea & Ginger

White Tea and Ginger

Blush- pictured below, had accelerated trace.  You can easily tell from the rough top surface and the shaggy swirls.

Blush

Blush

This last one riced and traced very fast.  I should have known. It is a fresh, clean, and sea-like scent.  From my experience, this type of fragrance usually moves fast.  I thought this was a goner, but after some patching up (the design makes a good camouflage), it looked pretty decent to me.  I really love this scent.  I hate working with difficult FOs but I think it may be worth the trouble.

Salty Sea Air

Salty Sea Air

This is my last post for 2014.

It has been an awesome soap-full year and I hope it has been for you, too! Thank you for being with me on this blog.  It wouldn’t be the same without you. 🙂

I wish you all a splendid Christmas and a happy & healthy New Year!

See you again soon!

xoxo,

Silvia

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Wispy Swirls

  1. Susan

    Silvia – These came out “OK”? I love them! They are beautiful!!! Thank you for sharing them. I’ll look forward to seeing more of your soap art in the coming year!

    Merry Christmas!

    Susan

    Reply
  2. Natalia

    Silvia, your soaps are gorgeous, delicate and special in the same time! Difficult to describe them!
    Wish you a lovely Christmas and a full of inspiration 2015!

    Reply
  3. jjbaze

    Thank you for the years in soap, love seeing the soaps you make and reading about the process. these soaps are very pretty, I especially like the whit tea and ginger one. How is the FO, is it a good scent? Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Thank you, jjbaze. I am happy to hear you enjoy reading my blog. 🙂

      White Tea and Ginger smells like a clean floral to me. It is strong but pleasant. I don’t detect tea or ginger. It soaps very easily and people like the scent. I had a candle with this scent that’s why I bought it.

      Reply
  4. Monica

    Oh Silvia, even when you say your soaps don’t turn out well, they still look amazing. I love your colour choices and how you match it to the scent (or vice versa).

    Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and I can’t wait to see the soaps you make for 2015. Enjoy your blogging break.

    Reply
  5. soapjam Post author

    You are very kind Monica, thank you. I have some truly ugly soaps – beyond saving – and my sensitive camera can’t stand the sight of them. What can I do? 😛

    Merry Christmas! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Madame Propre

    Sylvia, I also love those soaps! They may even be my favourites from you (though I really appreciate your clay series…). Give us a video of your chopstick swirl!
    I wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New year! Lots of affection!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Let’s see about that video. I have never made one and there’s always a million things to do! 😀
      Thank you, Madame Propre! Happy holidays and a prosperous New Year to you! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Maja

    I always wonder how the heck you manage to make that many soaps! I haven’t soap for month and a half and when I see your wonderful soaps, I always get inspired!
    Have beautiful holiday time and thank you for being there to share and care!
    Hugs!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      I master batch my oils and lye. And lots of late nights. I finally caught up on sleep this week. 😀
      Thank you, too, Maja! Blogging feels more worthwhile with people like you around. Hope you are having a fabulous holiday! 🙂

      Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      My swirls don’t always come out wispy too. I know I should add more water to help the batter stay fluid longer, but I am very reluctant to change my 37% lye concentration. 😀
      Are you pushing through with your trip to the Philippines? Do let me know.:)
      Happy Holidays, Janet! 🙂

      Reply
  8. Vicki

    Loving your swirls – especially the lilac one! I second Maja – I’m always amazed at how much soaping you get done 🙂 I’m going to have to get busy with restocks in the New Year. Hope you had a lovely Christmas Day, and wishing you a very Happy New Year!

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      Oil and lye masterbatch. Lots of late nights. But finally getting some rest. I need to restock as well, but will start soaping again in the New Year.

      Christmas was great, thank you. 🙂 I hope you’re having a wonderful holiday time and may the new year be a happy, healthy and prosperous one for you. 🙂

      Reply
  9. Hilda M. Bahner

    Silvia , Thank you very much for such a wonderful display of talent and grace , love your Blog ! May you have a very prosperous 2015 ! Hilda Bahner

    Reply
  10. Ksenija

    Wow Silvia, they really look fabulous! You are by far, the swirl master within the soap community. I have never seen swirls consenquetely so well done.

    Reply
    1. soapjam Post author

      It’s hit or miss, depending on how the soap behaves. 🙂 I do love making swirls but I feel far from being a master. 😛 Thank you for you kind words, Ksenija. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

