Tivoli

Zahida Map is undeniably the queen of butterfly hanger swirls.  She has inspired me to try her technique of moving the hanger not just up and down, but sideways and round about too. Because of her, I am more hooked than ever on the hanger swirl.  There is an element of thrill in that you never know what you’re going to get until you cut the soap.

For this technique to work, the soap batter has to be just the perfect consistency. Too thin and the swirls won’t look well-defined; too thick and the swirls won’t look fluid and there will most likely be air pockets.

Earlier this year I made soap called Puppy Love – scented with neroli and grapefruit.  I am partial to both neroli/orange blossom and citrus scents for their fresh and uplifting quality.  They are also imprinted in my olfactory memory – bringing me back to childhood scents that I’ve never grown tired of.

Tivoli is a slightly adjusted version of Puppy Love, but I definitely prefer the colors of this new one better. Looking at and smelling it reminds me of a beautiful garden where children play.  I thought of naming it Secret Garden but somehow it did not feel right.  As I was thinking of gardens, Tivoli popped up in my head one day.  I like the name and it seems to fit better.  I have not been to the gardens of Villa d’Este in Tivoli, Italy (although I was close to it 2 years ago), but now I have more reason to visit it. 🙂

I made 4 batches and I love the way all of them turned out.  The photos below are from different batches.

Tivoli 1

Tivoli 2

Tivoli 5

Tivoli 3

Tivoli 6

19 thoughts on “Tivoli

  1. Maja

    I’m not sure I can differentiate 4 batches, except first two, the pictures below looks very similar. No matter how many batches they are of, they all are pretty. And Puppy love was adorable, I like the fluorescent pink in that soap.

    Reply
  2. Gordana

    Silvia, your swirls are real perfection! You did really grate job taking into consideration the quantity of soap you made and design consistency between batches. Congratulations!

    Reply
  3. Vicki

    Beautiful! You got the consistency just right to make a gorgeous swirl there – they’re not easy to do, but you certainly cracked it. Lovely 😀 Hope you had an amazing holiday – if you have any more photos of Japan I’d love to see them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

