Coffee Soap

The fragrances I ordered have finally arrived!  Funny, but the first thing I did was make candles for the first time ever (I like the idea of having many uses for my ingredients.)  Since it was my first time to use fragrance oils, I got a headache from smelling them out of the bottle.  They’re that strong! Anyhow, I am really excited to use them in soaps (and candles) and I just hope that the finished product will have a great scent that stays, but not dizzying!

I have been wanting to make coffee hand soap but have held off until my coffee fragrance arrived.  From what I have read, real coffee scent is very hard to capture unless you use the ultra-pricey coffee bean essential oil.  This seems to be the case.  My husband thinks my coffee soap smells like chocolate cake.  I told him to smell deeper- the coffee is somewhere there! Nope, he does not pick up any coffee scent. Someone said it smells like banana cake, but I think that’s kinda stretching it a bit, although now I want to make honey banana soap!

Coffee Soap 1

Even though it does not smell like coffee, I still think it smells nice and I’m excited to use it.  I substituted all of the water with strong brewed coffee and added 30 grams of used coffee grounds at trace.  I also added a teaspoon of titanium dioxide mixed with a little water to 900 grams of oils (coconut oil, lard, olive oil, castor oil, cocoa butter, stearic acid) to lighten the color.  This soap behaved very well, tracing slowly even after the fragrance was added.

I removed this from the acrylic mold after 24 hours.  It was impossible to slide it out.  I forgot that with the no-liner mold, soap has to be unmolded while it is still a bit soft, around 12-16 hours after.  I cracked the bottom acrylic piece while forcing the soap to slide out before I had the sense to just use a metal spatula to get the soap unstuck from the acrylic panels.

Coffee Soap 2

Starting with this batch, I am experimenting on doing a lye discount of 1-2.5% using the lowest SAP value range of each oil.  I have noticed that the oils I commonly use have a 5-7% SAP value difference between its lowest and highest range.  Most charts or soap calculators use the mid-range, but we don’t really know how high or how low the actual discount is.  I figured that if I use the lowest range at 1-2.5% lye discount, at least I know I can’t get lower than that.  Most likely with the 4-6 kinds of oils I usually use in a recipe, not all of their actual SAP values will be in the lowest range, so I will probably end up with an actual lye discount of 3-6%, which is my ideal for normal-skin soap.  Let’s see if my theory works…

3 thoughts on “Coffee Soap

  1. Pingback: Avocado Soap | SoapJam

  2. Pingback: Banana Moon Cake Soap | SoapJam

  3. Pingback: One Recipe, Two Techniques | SoapJam

Leave a Reply

